close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Automatic backup of files to external hardrive?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ICARRY2, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. ICARRY2

    ICARRY2 NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,855
    Likes Received:
    16
    I just bought a WD 250gb external hardrive and made a copy of all of my files. Is there a way to set up my computer so that anytime I save something on my computer's hardrive that it automatically backs it up to the external hardrive?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Razrbk444

    Razrbk444 Sumthin' Witty Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    NE Arkansas
    I don't know about each time you save something, but you can set it to do a daily backup for sure.
     

  3. Furant

    Furant Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Software RAID?
     
  4. fwm

    fwm

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Near Central US
    You could set up a batch file using XCOPY to copy all files with the appropriate archive bit set (which will happen automatically when you change a file). Put a shortcut on you desktop. double click it when you want to do backups.

    The first time you do this it will copy all your files and reset the archive bit. From then on it will only save changed files and then reset the archive bit.

    Or you could do what we do at work and set up the 'scheduler' to run the batch file every night.

    The alternative is to get some RAID software that will mirror changes to the other drive.

    Or by a Mac and run 'time machine'
     
  5. pesticidal

    pesticidal Eh? CLM

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    11,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    North Dakota
    I just bought a 500 gig WD drive and it came with auto backup software.
     
  6. Furant

    Furant Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    If you're okay clicking an icon to initiate it, Microsoft's SyncToy is what you're looking for.

    Joey
     
  7. The Pontificator

    The Pontificator Angry Samoan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2000
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grumpyville
    part and parcel of Mac OS X: "Time Machine"
     
  8. havensal

    havensal Nozzle Jockey CLM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,939
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western, NY
    I use SyncToy a bit. You can also set it up to run via Windows scheduler. :cool:
     
  9. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham Footlong Jr.

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    Vista comes with Automatic File Backup but you need to configure it to kick it off.
     
  10. d3athp3nguin

    d3athp3nguin

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Winders has plenty of free backup utilities if you look for them; the suggestions above are all good ones. I would recommend SyncToy, because it was made by Microsoft programmers specifically for XP.
    http://www.microsoft.com/prophoto/downloads/synctoybeta.aspx

    If you are a Linux man... rsync scripts FTW! :supergrin:
     
  11. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I love SyncToy :)
     
  12. Glock13

    Glock13

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I am actually running into a similar problem. I am using Windows Vista Home Basic and have an external hard drive hooked up also. I would like to sync my pictures folder to backup on the external hard drive. I tried using the Vista Sync Center, but Sync Center doesn't recognize the external hard drive as a "syncable" device??? Anybody know how to fix this??