close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

At my wits end....

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by -, Oct 7, 2004.


  1. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Well, my son was using my 'puter the other day, and things are messed up. Whenever I open a new browser (IE 6.0), it goes to some goober search page and also has an extra search bar up top (make sense??). I've gone to Internet Options and used the "Apply Blank" option for my homepage, both on the open browser and in the Control panel, but it won't 'take' (yes, I hit the Apply button). Have tried the "Lock Toolbar" option to get rid of the extra search bar, but no luck there either,

    Really starting to irritate me... :(

    Other than get rid of IE, how can I fix it????
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    2,696
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    adaware

    also, what is the new toolbar called? try uninstalling it. then kick your son in the ass.
     

  3. proguncali

    proguncali
    Expand Collapse
    1911-2004
    CLM

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    2,608
    0
    Location:
    At your Mom's
    After you do that, download Firefox and use it.
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    977
    Location:
    Indiana
    Look in your Add/Remove programs, you'll probably be able to see whatever is causing this problem(your browser has been hijacked).. Most likely he downloaded something.

    As Chevro said, download Adaware and Spybot, update, and run them, and you should be ok.

    IGF
     
  5. Delta

    Delta
    Expand Collapse
    ThExtremeMember

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    530
    0
    Location:
    North Texas


    Reload IE6 and reset the options,
    The toolbar is located under (view) click toolbars and look for the unwanted options and click them off.


    B
     
  6. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    223 bad things on my 'puter ;P

    That Ad-Aware stuff rocks ;f ;f Thanks everyone!! Everything looks normal now. I don't know the name of that extra search bar, just called it search bar when I right clicked. Gone now ;f
     
  7. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    2,696
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    now about the boot to ass thing....
     
  8. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Oh, yeah, that's take care of too ;z
     
  9. proguncali

    proguncali
    Expand Collapse
    1911-2004
    CLM

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    2,608
    0
    Location:
    At your Mom's
    But did you un-install it? If you didn't it's still there.

    After you take care of that, go here:http://www.mozilla.org/ download and install Firefox. No more pop-ups, spyware etc.

    Plus you can do tabbed browsing....
     
  10. lomfs24

    lomfs24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    2,028
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    I second the Firefox suggestion. It is a great browser and it will take care of a lot of problems
     
  11. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Read the sticky at the top of this forum.

    I think I should put that line in my sig ;)
     
  12. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Had I known that was my problem, I would have read the sticky.

    Heck, had I known what the problem was, I wouldn't have needed to ask....
     
  13. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    BAD NEWS.

    Even Spybot does not remove the entire application most Browser Hijackers use to implant themselves.

    I suggest you go to Trend's excellent online scanning site post-haste and see how many backdoor.installer trojans and other assorted viruses you have been blessed with as well.

    Then kick his butt again if it finds a bunch of them.

    Good luck,

    FastVFR
     
  14. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I'll try that, thanks.

    Between Ad-Aware & Spybot, I *think* I'm clean, but it never hurts to double check.

    Downloaded Firefox as suggested. It won't import my favorites from IE, but othr than that, its OK.

    Thanks again for all the help!
     
  15. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Well, sure it will!

    You just open your IE, and flick File> Import & Export.

    Send the favorites to the desktop, then open Firefox.

    Click on Bookmark> Edit Bookmarks, then Tools> Import and guide it to the file on your desktop that IE built.

    Simple as that. Both use HTML for their Faves, and transferring from one to the other has always worked for me.

    Good luck,

    FastVFR
     
  16. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    ;W ;W ;W ;W
     
  17. m1911a1

    m1911a1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    78
    0
    take and pack your PC in a solid block of C-4 , apply dets , cover in 10,000 lbs of wet soil and set it off ...
    then go buy an apple laptop...;z ;a ;f


    trust me , you'll be much happier...
     
  18. Alpha752

    Alpha752
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    153
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ill third Firefox, it is 1000000 times better then IE. No popups, and tabbed browsing rocks!