close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

At my wits end....

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by -, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. Guest

    Well, my son was using my 'puter the other day, and things are messed up. Whenever I open a new browser (IE 6.0), it goes to some goober search page and also has an extra search bar up top (make sense??). I've gone to Internet Options and used the "Apply Blank" option for my homepage, both on the open browser and in the Control panel, but it won't 'take' (yes, I hit the Apply button). Have tried the "Lock Toolbar" option to get rid of the extra search bar, but no luck there either,

    Really starting to irritate me... :(

    Other than get rid of IE, how can I fix it????
     
  2. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    adaware

    also, what is the new toolbar called? try uninstalling it. then kick your son in the ass.
     

  3. proguncali

    proguncali 1911-2004 CLM

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,611
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    At your Mom's
    After you do that, download Firefox and use it.
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,453
    Likes Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Indiana
    Look in your Add/Remove programs, you'll probably be able to see whatever is causing this problem(your browser has been hijacked).. Most likely he downloaded something.

    As Chevro said, download Adaware and Spybot, update, and run them, and you should be ok.

    IGF
     
  5. Delta

    Delta ThExtremeMember

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas


    Reload IE6 and reset the options,
    The toolbar is located under (view) click toolbars and look for the unwanted options and click them off.


    B
     
  6. Guest

    223 bad things on my 'puter ;P

    That Ad-Aware stuff rocks ;f ;f Thanks everyone!! Everything looks normal now. I don't know the name of that extra search bar, just called it search bar when I right clicked. Gone now ;f
     
  7. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    now about the boot to ass thing....
     
  8. Guest

    Oh, yeah, that's take care of too ;z
     
  9. proguncali

    proguncali 1911-2004 CLM

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,611
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    At your Mom's
    But did you un-install it? If you didn't it's still there.

    After you take care of that, go here:http://www.mozilla.org/ download and install Firefox. No more pop-ups, spyware etc.

    Plus you can do tabbed browsing....
     
  10. lomfs24

    lomfs24

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    I second the Firefox suggestion. It is a great browser and it will take care of a lot of problems
     
  11. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Read the sticky at the top of this forum.

    I think I should put that line in my sig ;)
     
  12. Guest

    Had I known that was my problem, I would have read the sticky.

    Heck, had I known what the problem was, I wouldn't have needed to ask....
     
  13. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    BAD NEWS.

    Even Spybot does not remove the entire application most Browser Hijackers use to implant themselves.

    I suggest you go to Trend's excellent online scanning site post-haste and see how many backdoor.installer trojans and other assorted viruses you have been blessed with as well.

    Then kick his butt again if it finds a bunch of them.

    Good luck,

    FastVFR
     
  14. Guest

    I'll try that, thanks.

    Between Ad-Aware & Spybot, I *think* I'm clean, but it never hurts to double check.

    Downloaded Firefox as suggested. It won't import my favorites from IE, but othr than that, its OK.

    Thanks again for all the help!
     
  15. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Well, sure it will!

    You just open your IE, and flick File> Import & Export.

    Send the favorites to the desktop, then open Firefox.

    Click on Bookmark> Edit Bookmarks, then Tools> Import and guide it to the file on your desktop that IE built.

    Simple as that. Both use HTML for their Faves, and transferring from one to the other has always worked for me.

    Good luck,

    FastVFR
     
  16. Guest

    ;W ;W ;W ;W
     
  17. m1911a1

    m1911a1

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    take and pack your PC in a solid block of C-4 , apply dets , cover in 10,000 lbs of wet soil and set it off ...
    then go buy an apple laptop...;z ;a ;f


    trust me , you'll be much happier...
     
  18. Alpha752

    Alpha752

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ill third Firefox, it is 1000000 times better then IE. No popups, and tabbed browsing rocks!