close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

AR15 Ammo question

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by Teej, Dec 21, 2012.

1. Teej

Teej
    Expand Collapse

I am a newbie to AR's. Just picked up my first which is a Bushmaster.

My friend told me to stay away from the Russian .223 ammo. He said it would foul it up and I'd be doing a lot of cleaning. However as you all know, ammo is currently dried up out there.

I have located some Silver Bear 55 grn FMJ and HP. What are your thoughts on this please?

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Leigh

Leigh
    Expand Collapse

I prefer brass but steel case ammo works just fine.
    I consider all ammo "dirty" so cleaning is just a part of gun ownership to me.
    If the ammo is not corrosive to begin with, your rifle won't be any more "fouled" than using brass-cased stuff.

3. Teej

Teej
    Expand Collapse

Well they just sold last case out while I was posting. lol

Oh well. I'd still appreciate your opinions. In the mean time I have a nice looking club...... :whistling:

4. GAFinch

GAFinch
    Expand Collapse

I've still seen some .223 hunting ammo available. More expensive but still very effective and better than having nothing.

5. P99er

P99er
    Expand Collapse
    AKA PPQ'er

It was originally thought that the older Russian ammo which had a lacquer coating, would cause it to gum up the works: if you ran brass case behind it, the lacquer build up could gum up the brass case and cause it to jam. Somebody did a test to test the theory and found that the lacquer was indeed sticking to the brass cases and fouling the action, causing jams. You could see specs of lacquer on the brass cases. Folks decided if you were going to use Wolf, stay with it until you cleaned your rifle.

Then, it evolved into combloc ammo for combloc guns.