close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

AR trigger replacement

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by ghawk249, Mar 19, 2012.


  1. ghawk249

    ghawk249
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    41
    0
    Location:
    tn
    I have a Stag Model 2 AR and looking at replacing the stock trigger. It also needs to be done on a budget if possilble.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Any particular reason it's being replaced? If it's just due to heavy or gritty trigger, there are various ways to improve the feel of a stock AR trigger for relatively cheap.
     

  3. Reb 56

    Reb 56
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    1,774
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    RRA 2 stage trigger can usually be found for around $100 as can a JP single stage. Either one is much better than the stock AR trigger.
     
  4. stgha

    stgha
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    269
    0
    Location:
    Pataskala OH
    you could also go with a lighter spring set and some light stoning work, provided you don't throw ammo through her that has hard primers....

    Steve
     
  5. Javelin

    Javelin
    Expand Collapse
    Got Glock?
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    13,775
    3
    Location:
    N. Dallas
    #5 Javelin, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  6. boomhower

    boomhower
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    3,323
    2
    Location:
    North Carolina
    +1

    Skip the RRA. It will turn to crap within 1000 rounds or so.
     
  7. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Mine has been going strong for well over 5k life fire, and thousands more dry fire.
     
  8. Javelin

    Javelin
    Expand Collapse
    Got Glock?
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    13,775
    3
    Location:
    N. Dallas
    Mine has been faithful to me as well. But I would still probably not buy another after seeing the issues with them.


    EDIT: Same with EOTech... own one, been good to me, Aimpoints for me from now on.

    :wavey:
     
    #8 Javelin, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  9. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Yeah. My plan is to eventually replace it with a SSA or SSA-E.
     
  10. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr
    Expand Collapse
    DirtyThirty fan
    CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    36,028
    392
    Location:
    Troy
    The RRA is piss poor,......I had one fail on me at around 2500 rounds fired.
    RRA replaced it, it went to crap at about 12oo rounds fired.

    Tried a Bill Springfield tweaked/stoned trigger, it went full auto at 700 rounds.

    I bought a Timney 4# skeleton trigger, it's been in three rifles
    & is at about 4k rounds fired.

    Pay once, cry once!
     
  11. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    What failure did you see on the RRA?
     
  12. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr
    Expand Collapse
    DirtyThirty fan
    CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    36,028
    392
    Location:
    Troy
    1st stage failed,....turned to a long mushy trigger pull.
     
  13. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Same issue I have heard of before. I guess I got lucky. I do plan on replacing mine as soon as I can, though.
     
  14. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr
    Expand Collapse
    DirtyThirty fan
    CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    36,028
    392
    Location:
    Troy
    Sounds as if you did get a good one,......nust be an older trigger!

    My AR10 has a Jard trigger, plan to replace with a Geissele SSA
     
    #14 faawrenchbndr, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  15. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    It is, got it some time in 2009. It's survived through about 3-4 upper configurations and one lower migration when I built my SBR.
     
  16. FriscoCHL

    FriscoCHL
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    493
    0
    Location:
    TX
    I would be intrested in this. I did a "polish" on one of my glock trigger bars and was pleased with the results. is this the same idea you speak of??

    ps, Javelin would you be interested in selling that Eotech?
     
    #16 FriscoCHL, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  17. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Yep. Lots of "15 minute trigger job" info online. Google is your friend. I've never personally done one, so I can't really help otherwise.
     
  18. halfmoonclip

    halfmoonclip
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    2,208
    235
    Bill Springfield thought he had it figured out, and sometimes his triggers go crazy; double and run away.
    So I'd be mighty damn careful stoning or modding the standard trigger.
    Save your money for a Geissels SSA; goes bang all the time and is reputed durable.
    Moon
     
  19. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr
    Expand Collapse
    DirtyThirty fan
    CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    36,028
    392
    Location:
    Troy
    AR trigger components are said to be surface hardened before machining.
    Stoning, like Bill Springfield does, is rumored to create such a thin surface
    that the precision ground & stoned surface errodes very quickly.

    This is thought to be why so many of those trigger jobs go south very quickly.
     
  20. Javelin

    Javelin
    Expand Collapse
    Got Glock?
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    13,775
    3
    Location:
    N. Dallas
    My EOTech 512 has been perfect for me so I have been planning on keeping it. I still have the original box for the EOTech too so maybe.

    Seems you get one that runs awesome or you don't. I lucked out with mine. :supergrin: