close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

AR-15....to crimp, or not to crimp

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by utfelon, Aug 20, 2011.

1. utfelon

utfelon
    Expand Collapse

I have a Stag super varmiter that I'm trying to load for. I'm new to the AR world. I'm loading some 65 gr SGK and not sure if a crimp is the way to go.
    Do you crimp some and not others? Do you crimp only one that have a cannular? I load for acc. so no crimp, or crimp for the set back.

I've read both side or the fence and would like some detailed info.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. crsuribe

crsuribe
    Expand Collapse
    10mm Auto

Yeah dude crimp them twice

3. ColoCG

ColoCG
    Expand Collapse

I never crimp my .223 for my AR with hornady .55gr. fmj or sp never had a problem yet. Might depend on your gun. If you do crimp, crimp only bullets with a cannelure unless your using a LFCD for rifle. YMMV.

4. PCJim

PCJim
    Expand Collapse

Have to agree with CG. I have used the LFCD and was not greatly impressed. Whether with or without cannelure, nowadays I don't crimp.

5. Ferdinandd

Ferdinandd
    Expand Collapse

I asked the same question a while back and received conflicting opinions, but most folks said don't crimp. I was concerned about setback due to recoil. I loaded ammo without crimp. I measured the AOL of the rounds in the magazine as I worked my way through a 30-rounder. I had no detectable change in OAL. That was with 55 grain SP's over H335 of BLC-2.

6. steve4102

steve4102
    Expand Collapse

From The Experts at Sierra.

Neck Tension

When we stop to consider the vigorous (read, downright violent) chambering cycle a loaded round endures in a Service Rifle, it becomes pretty clear it suffers abuse that would never happen in a bolt-action. This is simply the nature of the beast. It needs to be dealt with since there is no way around it.