close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Apologies

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by IlliniGlocker, Aug 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IlliniGlocker

IlliniGlocker
    Expand Collapse

I'll admit it, I'm a self-professed cop basher. I never see you guys on a good day. I never see you guys helping the community. My only exposure has been negative (speeding tickets, etc.).

What further compounds my distrust of the police is my heritage. My grandparents dealt with the Nazis, and my parents dealt with the communists before immigrating to the US. Therefore, I have a pretty clear picture of authority figures.

I have to say though, you probably deal with alot of crap on a daily basis. And while I'd hate to admit it, I'm sorry and thanks for keeping my community safe.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. huron bay

huron bay
    Expand Collapse

Here's a thought, don't speed.

3. txleapd

txleapd
    Expand Collapse
    Hook 'Em Up

Thanks for comparing us to Nazis. :upeyes:

4. IlliniGlocker

IlliniGlocker
    Expand Collapse

I was going with the flow of traffic, officer....

5. IlliniGlocker

IlliniGlocker
    Expand Collapse

If you want to read it that way, fine. I was trying to show how figures of authority are generalized in my mind.

Edited to add: Let me spin this as a question... how would you view police if the police your parents grew up with would throw you in jail for speaking poorly about the government? What about if the police that your grandparents dealt with threw your grandmother into a forced labor camp?

#5 IlliniGlocker, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  6. Bodyarmorguy

Bodyarmorguy
    Expand Collapse

I had a bad experience with a computer engineer once, I guess they must all be jackwagons, huh......stereotypes suck, don't they?