close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Anyone use IPCop?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by mfackler, Oct 31, 2004.


  1. mfackler

    mfackler
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    130
    0
    Location:
    Van Wert, Ohio, USA
    Just wondering....Anyone here use IPCop? I use it at work and at home and it does exactly what I wanted.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. greenlead

    greenlead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    326
    0
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    We use it at church.
     

  3. saber41

    saber41
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    IPCop is great, I'm presently using it at home.
    I've also set up several IPCop boxes for friends.
    I used to run Smoothwall (v1.0),
    I still have to try the final release of Smoothwall v2.0 one of these days but for now I'm happy with IPCop.

    You cant go wrong with either one...
     
  4. grantglock

    grantglock
    Expand Collapse
    /dev/null

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    219
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    i use it at work, about 25 computers, works great, never had a problem.
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    IPCop 1.4.1 has been released now.
     
  6. geminicricket

    geminicricket
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    6,549
    18
    Location:
    Lewisville, TX USA
    duh, what's it do?

    My dad's computer has the w32beagle virus, and I might have to help him get rid of it.
     
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  8. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    IPCop is Linux operating system used to make an extra PC the firewall/router for a network.
     
  9. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Hey, geminicricket?

    Have him take his IE over to Trend's Housecall site.

    He can probably get it out himself; Bagle32 isn't all that tough to remove.

    He should be able to figure out the cutter apps Washington recommended if that doesn't do it. The Trend HC thing is important since he may have other virii he doesn't even know about.
     
  10. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    I have read where SmoothWall 2.0, when fully patched, is quite a bit more secure; but IPCop is reportedly pretty good for non-critical (read business/financial security) purposes.
     
  11. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I like Trend Micro Housecall but it hangs or doesn't run on some machines.
     
  12. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  13. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Yo, DC--

    When that happens you just have to navigate to the Temp folder and delete the old Trend entry there.

    Seems the older version borks the new engine somehow, and also keeps the newer detection engine from installing.

    That has worked on every PC I have ever had hang at 95%!

    Try it and see if it works for you.

    Best regards,

    FastVFR
     
  14. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I got Housecall to run again on my Windows XP machine.It did take a long time.I ran Housecall on my Windows 98 SE machine four years ago and it found an infected file.Now Housecall will not work at all on the Windows 98 SE machine.Housecall did find an infected file on the XP machine at one time too.I've run other antivirus programs and scanners since and all looks good now.I use Linux and BSD most of the time when I don't need to use Windows.