close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Anyone know what this means

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by annielulu, Sep 30, 2010.


  1. annielulu

    annielulu
    Expand Collapse
    StraightShooter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    184
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    When my computer restarts I get the following display box:

    RUNDLL
    Error loading C:\Windows\itifecuj.dll
    The specified module could not be found

    How can I fix this. What does it mean. My computer seems to be working ok.

    Any thoughts greatly appreciated.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Slug71

    Slug71
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    4,499
    10
    Location:
    Oregon - U.S.A
    Its trying to start a process at boot which is not working. Since google returns no results with 'itifecuj.dll', id be a little concerned. Did you install/uninstall anything recently? You may also want to run a virus scan.
     

  3. annielulu

    annielulu
    Expand Collapse
    StraightShooter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    184
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I ran an AVG scan in addition to Spybot, Adaware, Malwarebytes, etc., anything I could think of.

    Still keeps coming up.
     
  4. solomansousana

    solomansousana
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, Virginia
    Can't find anything anywhere regarding that specific .dll, might you have removed some sort of software program recently that deleted that without doing a complete job.
     
  5. annielulu

    annielulu
    Expand Collapse
    StraightShooter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    184
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    So, is it safe to say that my system is OK.

    How can I get rid of the pop up on restart?

    Thanks
     
  6. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    ^^^ How 'bout answering this question.


    Another question that can't be answered until the file is identified.



    Are you sure this is the file name?
     
  7. annielulu

    annielulu
    Expand Collapse
    StraightShooter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    184
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I don't think I deleted anything recently that I remember, and yes, that is the name of the file that comes up in the window.

    I Googled the file name, but nothing came up.
     
  8. Slug71

    Slug71
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    4,499
    10
    Location:
    Oregon - U.S.A
    Did you uninstall anything?
    Are you running XP?
     
  9. annielulu

    annielulu
    Expand Collapse
    StraightShooter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    184
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm running XP. I don't recall uninstalling anything around the time I started getting the window message.
     
  10. UtahIrishman

    UtahIrishman
    Expand Collapse
    BLR
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    6,571
    1,149
    Location:
    Utah
    Malwarebytes can be downloaded with a random name generated. This it to protect it from certain malware that knows to look for Malarebytes. It could be a remnant from that but I doubt it.

    If this were the case I think you would know. It's not something you do randomly.

    I would run a complete virus scan. It can sometimes take a bit of detective work and inference to judge whether it's a recent remnant of a removed/deleted program.



    If all else fails shoot it :tongueout:
     
    #10 UtahIrishman, Sep 30, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2010
  11. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,798
    10
    Orphaned registry key from old Malware. Open up regedit and navigate to

    HKEY local_machine > software > microsoft > windows > current_version > run and delete they key. If it is not there look in
    HKEY current_user > software > microsoft > windows > current versions > run
     
  12. solomansousana

    solomansousana
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, Virginia

    This, or maybe it's time to reinstall your OS? Or use a restore point to a time prior to the issue.
     
  13. Slug71

    Slug71
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    4,499
    10
    Location:
    Oregon - U.S.A
    This.

    Is your Windows updates all up to date? You have Service Pack3 installed?
     
    #13 Slug71, Oct 1, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2010