close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Anyone here SBR their Draco or M92?

Discussion in 'The Kalashnikov Klub' started by RMTactical, Mar 28, 2013.


  1. RMTactical

    RMTactical
    Expand Collapse
    www.AR15pro.net
    CLM

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    12,603
    16
    Location:
    Behind an AR-15
  2. SpecialsTek7467

    SpecialsTek7467
    Expand Collapse
    SpecialsTek7467

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    15
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, Arizona
    I have a Draco but have kept it all legit as a pistol. Have thrown a single point sling to help with the recoil and does great. I have completely decked it out with my OD Green apparel.

    But have wondered many a time about adding a stock. From the research that I have found, but can't provide for you currently has stated that if the barrel is 16", then considered a rifle. So with the installation of a 4" flash hider to your 12" pistol, then it is there by legal to add a stock. Google the SBR forums and will stumble upon the same information that I did. Hope this helped if just ideas at the least. Good Luck!
     

    #2 SpecialsTek7467, Mar 28, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  3. barth

    barth
    Expand Collapse
    six barrels

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    6,300
    387
    Location:
    The Free Zone
    I've got a SLR-106U pistol.
    Haven't done the SBR thingy. But am thinking about it.
    I do believe you have to have a flash hider, or suppressor,
    permanently attached to the barrel in a specific fashion
    to be considered part of the barrel length, in terms of not being a SBR.
     
    #3 barth, Mar 29, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  4. RMTactical

    RMTactical
    Expand Collapse
    www.AR15pro.net
    CLM

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    12,603
    16
    Location:
    Behind an AR-15
    I'm going to pay the $200 tax stamp and do the ATF paperwork to get the SBR, thanks.
     
  5. barth

    barth
    Expand Collapse
    six barrels

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    6,300
    387
    Location:
    The Free Zone
    You might try http://www.akfiles.com/forums/
    for more information.
     
  6. tobias boon

    tobias boon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    376
    3
    Location:
    Lone Star State
    Krebs customs list a pile of different adapters for various stocks. I think most people use the ACE folders.
     
  7. scottMO

    scottMO
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1998
    1,082
    4
    Location:
    LR Arkansas
    I SBR'd a Draco and got lucky and found a mini Draco already SBR'd. the mini now has a folding stock too..
    [​IMG]

    I slightly opened up the front sight post for a higher cheek weld with the red dot...
    [​IMG]

    this is how the mini looked when i got it:
    [​IMG]

    this was the orig look I had in mind for the full sized draco but went with the look in the first pic:
    [​IMG]

    The original "Gardner clone", which started it all. Named after username Gardner on AR15.com
    [​IMG]
     
    #7 scottMO, Mar 30, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  8. scottMO

    scottMO
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1998
    1,082
    4
    Location:
    LR Arkansas
    pictured with a 40rd mag and one of the prev flash hiders i was trying out:
    [​IMG]

    drum:
    [​IMG]

    tanker mag:
    [​IMG]

    more gardner clone pics:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #8 scottMO, Mar 30, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  9. Glockdude1

    Glockdude1
    Expand Collapse
    Federal Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    24,132
    2,482
    Location:
    Beaumont,Texas
    :thumbsup:
     
  10. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    There are only two AKs I really want - a true Russian Krink build, and this setup.

    My wallet thinks you're an *******.
     
  11. scottMO

    scottMO
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1998
    1,082
    4
    Location:
    LR Arkansas
    I can post some pics of my aks-74u's if that would help...:whistling:
     
  12. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida


    Thanks. You just made me feel like the abused wife that keeps going back for more.

    :rofl:
     
  13. cgjane

    cgjane
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    574
    2
    Location:
    Miami
    This is my next SBR, most likely a Draco.

    From What I have read, the PAPs serial number is located where you would place a stock's mounting hardware. making it a pain to SBR.
     
  14. Crook214

    Crook214
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    44
    0
    That's only on older models... And that's if you are drilling the rear trunnion on the older models. The one I have has the serial number farther up.. I will post a pic later


    Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
     
  15. RMTactical

    RMTactical
    Expand Collapse
    www.AR15pro.net
    CLM

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    12,603
    16
    Location:
    Behind an AR-15
    Excellent, thanks!
     
  16. plouffedaddy

    plouffedaddy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    2,239
    1
    Location:
    Carolina
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDy_7CDqcBE"]Romanian Draco AK-47 SBR Review (HD) - YouTube[/ame]

    I have the adaptor---it's surprisingly solid. I got it as sort of a stop gap until I could just drill/tap the receiver but now that I have it I have no desire to drill/tap it.