close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Anybody play WWIIonline?

Discussion in 'The Players Club' started by Glock23, Sep 11, 2004.


  1. Glock23

    Glock23
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 1999
    24
    0
    Just wondering if anyone here plays WWIIonline? If not check it out. www.wwiionline.com
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. MrMurphy

    MrMurphy
    Expand Collapse
    *********
    Moderator Moderator Millennium Member Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    12,972
    0
    Location:
    Buried in the X-files
    Interesting..... is the gameplay better or worse than Battlefield 1942? I mean..... how do you capture stuff? is it CTF type, or realistic?
     

  3. Fingolfin

    Fingolfin
    Expand Collapse
    Engorged Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    365
    0
    Location:
    With The Gear In The Rear
    Check out the site. It's like a FPS "simulation" type game. Persistent world servers, ongoing battles that can last a looong time. If they would take that game, update the graphics and simplify the gameplay a bit it would really take off.

    It's a lot slower than BF 1942 to answer that question.
     
  4. Hauptmann6

    Hauptmann6
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    4,182
    67
    Location:
    Portage, MI
    The reason the graphics are the way they are, is that 3 gig machines with a gig of ram have a hard time runnig the game with detail turned up as it is. You are dealing with a HUGE amount of poeple and all balistics are calcuated unlike almost any other shooter.

    And simplify gameplay? no idea how you do that without turning it into quake.

    As to better/worse than BF42. BF 42 is Quake with WW2 skins/weapons. WW2OL is a simulation. Things take time. You never know where someone is coming from ect. One night I was a rifleman and walked about 2 hours, took 5 shots and killed 5 enemy. It took another hour to make it back to freindly territory. All the while spotting for freindly aircraft and making sure high command knew were the tank collum was headed.

    Glock 23 what is your ingame name? I am Haupt I run with the 88th Gebirgsjager in the 13mid. I am currently unsubbed due to needed a new comp. Our forums are at www.cfsipgames.com drop in and say hi. We have quite a few allies hanging around as well(Chaps Squad).
     
  5. MrMurphy

    MrMurphy
    Expand Collapse
    *********
    Moderator Moderator Millennium Member Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    12,972
    0
    Location:
    Buried in the X-files
    I've heard the lag is insane.
     
  6. Hauptmann6

    Hauptmann6
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    4,182
    67
    Location:
    Portage, MI
    Actualy it's not. Yes there are a few problems. But it's setup to be more tolerant than most shooters. And it is playable on a 26.6 dialup.
     
  7. Glock23

    Glock23
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 1999
    24
    0
    Hauptmann6,
    Ingame name is Hardba11. No longer have a squad to hang w/ due to them all going their seperate ways. I'm looking for a new squad, playing as a merc is not really as much fun as playing w/ a group of guys. I play German most of the time. I'm in neeed of a new PC, hopefully I'll get one before this fall. I'll check out your site thx.
     
  8. Glock23

    Glock23
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 1999
    24
    0
    Hauptmann6, I signed up at your site but deleted the confirmation email before I registered. Is there a way you could send it again? Thx in advance.
     
  9. Hauptmann6

    Hauptmann6
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    4,182
    67
    Location:
    Portage, MI
    I activated your account. Just go there and do the forgot password(after replying to post or logging in).
     
  10. Fingolfin

    Fingolfin
    Expand Collapse
    Engorged Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    365
    0
    Location:
    With The Gear In The Rear
    I don't see how that's an excuse for having graphics that outdated. Ever play PlanetSide?
     
  11. Hauptmann6

    Hauptmann6
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    4,182
    67
    Location:
    Portage, MI
    They would lose over half of their subscriber base? people have had to upgrade 2-3 times already to play the game. They try to stretch the upgrade cycle as long as they can, as not everyone can afford a top of the line computer every year(or want to)

    And IIRC the planetside map is 10-20 times smaller than the WW2ol map. There are no zones ect.

    http://www.tgpo.net/images/fun/SwgCompareBig.jpg

    That puts objects in the millions... They are working at redesigning the graphics engine as well. And for a company with maybe 20 employees it's not a super fast process.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Anybody play bridge The Okie Corral Jan 19, 2016
anybody ever play KanJam? The Okie Corral Aug 31, 2014
Anybody here play Game Boy Advance SP? The Players Club Jan 24, 2007
Anybody play with Apple's iDVD? Tech Talk Nov 13, 2005
Duty Gear at CopsPlus