close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Any former/present Pyrotechnicians around?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by geofri, Jan 10, 2012.

1. geofri

geofri Poikilotherm™ Lifetime Member

I would think I would have caught if anyone here was one ( if it was ever mentioned), but I have the chance to work for a relatively large local firework company this summer.

As a young teenager, I really wanted to try to get into the field, but hit some walls, and let the interest fade. However, I just met an "in" at the company, and was told they would probably hire me on the spot.

There are still plenty of details are still up in the air that I need to get directly from the company, I don't even know if there is money to make yet. I have no real experience or knowledge of chemistry, other than home experiments, but they always need truck loaders. I am told it is fairly easy to work up to managing a crew, driving a truck, and heading up shows.

Just thought I'd put a feeler out for anyone who might know what what's up with the industry and if there is any chance of a real career in it?

I don't know if it's what I want to do, but I feel like I ought to give it a try since I was once so interested(still am interested, just had accepted that it wasn't goign to happen for me). Seems no one actually makes shells here anymore, even this company which prides itself in it's all american image of hand manufacturing each shell orders from china..:upeyes:

2. Kith

Kith

The firs thing you will have to do is take a class to get licensed to transport explosives - whether you are driving the truck or not most companies make you get it anyway just to cover themselves.

It's mostly a seasonal gig, summertime being your bread and butter months.

This is if you are actually doing shoots.

Otherwise, if you're kept on staff around the year you could work in the warehouses processing the explosives or driving a truck moving them around.