close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Akido For Lawenforcement Officer?

Discussion in 'The Martial Arts Forum' started by Security Office, May 31, 2005.

1. Security Office

Security Office
    Expand Collapse

I am a private security officer now but am going to be a police officer soon. As a private leo I work dagerous sites such as bars. Is Akido a good for of defense? If not what do you reccomend? I rulled out tae kwon do.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Hookkicks

Hookkicks
    Expand Collapse

Akido is good if you are willing to put the time in.

3. gr81disp

gr81disp
    Expand Collapse
    Bushbot v1.0

Aikido is useful but VERY hard to master and must come close to mastering it to put it to use in a real situation. I would suggest Muay Thai kickboxing, Kali stick fighting, and, as anyone who has read my posts before knows, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (Bjj). That should help you with all ranges, but if you want just one art to study, I would personally suggest Bjj.

4. MARTIN FISHER

MARTIN FISHER
    Expand Collapse

Find a good Judo school. Most of what police officers do is simply moving people who do not want to be moved. Most offenders will not fight an officer until the officer grabs or attemps to grab the suspect. Judo is a good base art, is fairly common and adding strikes and submissions latter on will be simple. And you get to throw people around, which is always fun.

Oh, and spend some money on some real firearms trainining, pulling the trigger on a gun will either be the best choice you ever make as an officer or the worst.

5. garythenuke

garythenuke
    Expand Collapse

Aikido is an okay art, but as mentioned above, extremely hard to master. You have to hope that you get a decent school. Many of them are so concerned with the ki-of-the-universe-flowing-thorough-you-peace-love-harmony stuff that you get very little uselful information.