close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Aimpoint CompM4

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by NitLion, Jan 17, 2010.


  1. NitLion

    NitLion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    1,331
    38
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I have one on order... winging its way to me!! (to be put on my RRA CAR A4). Is there anything not to like about this optic? Any must-have additions like flip up scope covers or killflash? Any installation tips or any tips at all?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. phxfa

    phxfa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    311
    0
    Ive got two M4s's mounted on LaRue QD mounts, 1 with the kill-flash which came with it and 1 with the flip-up covers which I added. Bag the kill-flash and stick with the flip-ups. I had to use the LaRue mount on my REPR to clear the charging handle which you wont have a problem with, the factory QD mount is fine if it doesnt interfere with anything as it does stick out quite a bit, you'll love this optic! :cool:
     

  3. internal

    internal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    701
    0
    Yes, my only complaint about the Aimpoints is that there's too much **** hanging off them so all that **** tends to disrupt my FOV when shooting both eyes open.

    It should just be a tube that's a perfect circle around the perimeter.
     
  4. Hokie

    Hokie
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    515
    0
    Location:
    VA
    Where would the battery go? Or would you prefer they make the tube bigger and put the battery and adjustment dials inside the tube?
     
  5. internal

    internal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    701
    0
    Yes I would prefer a bigger tube at that point.

    What's the story with the T1, where's the battery located on that model?
     
  6. phxfa

    phxfa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    311
    0
    Thats why I bought the S version, low battery mount, not so bad IMHO
     
  7. phxfa

    phxfa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    311
    0
    It's built into the brightness/adjustment dial
     
  8. COBRA90GT

    COBRA90GT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    337
    2
    Location:
    HOCKEYTOWN ® , MI
    If you are looking for a QD mount, also consider Bobro - outstanding quality. I'm running a "BOBRO AIMPOINT COMP M4 Mount" and it's a great combination with my Aimpoint/AR.


    YMMV
     
  9. bjesse60

    bjesse60
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    307
    0
    Location:
    KY
    Does anyone know on the M4s model if the adjustment dial gets in the way of flip-down covers or if they have to be in the flip up position ?
     
  10. phxfa

    phxfa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    311
    0
    Either way works
     
  11. phxfa

    phxfa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    311
    0
    Does the BOBRO mount self adjust on the rail like the factory M4 mount?
    Ive learned that all rails are not the same dimensionaly, My SIG .556 SBR's picatinny rail doesnt like my LaRue mounted optics (loose) and theres a slight change between other platforms
     
  12. Chuck TX

    Chuck TX
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    6,229
    425
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    I'd pick up some flip-up caps (I like the blizzard/see-thru ones).

    I have two. One in with a Bobro mount, one with a LaRue mount. The Bobro mount is hands down better IMO for going between different rifles. The LaRue is more magnifier friendly by a long shot. With the LaRue you can get a 3x mag (or the 2.5x po boy) to fit with just about any combo of BUIS. With the Bobro is a whole lot tighter fit, and nearly impossible with a Magpul MBUS on an AR without a continuous quad rail.
     
  13. kgain673

    kgain673
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    370
    0
    Location:
    glen burnie, MD
    the price sucks!