close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Added an LED light to my Dillon 550b

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by bill clancy, Oct 14, 2012.


  1. bill clancy

    bill clancy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    188
    3
    Location:
    Monterey Cali.
    I'm currently reloading in the basement, even with flourescent lighting overhead, my 50+ year old eyes aren't what they used to be. To be extra safe I got a Princeton Tec Pulsar II keychain light (The one with the switch on the side), and a bit of adhesive velcro. I put a piece of velcro on the tool head on the exposed side near stations 2 & 3, and another one on the small light. I turn it on and adjust the aim to shoot right into the shell on station 2, so I can see the powder charge level before I flick the index sprocket to advance the shell to station 3.
    Is it easy enough or do you need a picture?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. HAMMERHEAD

    HAMMERHEAD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    3,434
    13
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I get the picture.
    I know I feel much better about seeing each and every powder charge.
    Glad you're doing it too.
     

  3. judgecrater

    judgecrater
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    169
    1
    Good insurance.
     
  4. TK-421

    TK-421
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    10,028
    674
    Location:
    Pflugerville, TX
    Always a good idea to be safe and make sure you know exactly how much powder is in there, to try and avoid a double charge. Smart idea using one of those cheap keychain lights.
     
  5. Kwesi

    Kwesi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    1,392
    3
    Location:
    TX
    I wish I had a photo to post or the ordering details for the light I installed on the 550. It has 5-6 bright LED's on a vertical flat strip that attaches between stations 1 & 2. Puts out lots of light on stations 2 & 3. Purchased it last year. Someone posted the details here on GT.
     
  6. bdhawk

    bdhawk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    1,350
    1
    my guess is, your light came from inline fabrication.
    this guy is very clever, with all kinda neat stuff for many different presses. web address below....

    kinda funny, i ordered two sets of the lights for my 550Bs, and one for my SDB. he e-mailed me yesterday that they were to be shipped today, 10/19/12. he has an outstanding reputation.

    check out the press handles. i plan to get some for my
    550Bs, ASAP [waitin' on discretionary funding].

    www.inlinefabrication.com
     
    #6 bdhawk, Oct 19, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2012
  7. thunderbat

    thunderbat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    419
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Good tip on the lighting system, thanks. Does the power cord get in the way at all?
     
  8. alank2

    alank2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    950
    10
    Hi,

    All of my products comes with a press light - http://www.pressmonitordevice.com

    I don't have the counters up at my website, but they are on eBay.

    [​IMG]

    I think a light on the bullet seating stations is one of the best things you can do for safety!

    Good luck,

    Alan
     
  9. Kwesi

    Kwesi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    1,392
    3
    Location:
    TX
    Yes that is it! Even though I have Alan's Press Monitor (great product) I prefer inline's lighting system. The cord has not been a problem.
     
  10. njl

    njl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2000
    7,441
    379
    Location:
    :noitacoL
    With just a bit of soldering, the LED strips are an easy DIY project. The soldering is really the only difficult part. Shop around for the LED material...it's sold on 5M rolls for as little as about $12 delivered.
     
  11. bdhawk

    bdhawk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    1,350
    1
    finally got around to posting about the L.E.D.,
    inline fabrication lights. they recommend you install the strip on the inside of the closest upright on the frame. i chose to put mine on the far side. i like to check my powder level there, just before i add the bullet.
    the wires are not an issue. they give you stuff to route the wires out the way, and out of harms way. they are turned
    on/off by an inline roller switch.

    i am posting a pic, but there are other pics on their website.
    if you want a pic of the square deal lighting, look there. it is pretty much the same as mine. i am posting mine to show how the lights look on a different position.

    www.inlinefabrication.com
     
    #11 bdhawk, Dec 9, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2012
  12. dhgeyer

    dhgeyer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    493
    4
    I've got plenty of light for my eyes on the cases as they go around. I can see the powder level quite well at stations 2 and three, and the bullet at stations 3 and 4.

    Where I'd like to put more light is on the primer cup as it slides out from under the feed tube. Looking at that to make sure there is a primer and that it's right side up is part of my routine before I move the handle the rest of the way and seat the primer. Right now it's a bit dark under there. I've been meaning to do something about that. Your idea of a little LED makes a lot of sense. Thanks!
     
  13. SBray

    SBray
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    390
    16
    Location:
    Loomis, California
    I have only used the Press Monitor light that Alan's unit came with. It works for me. I can't help but wonder, does that row of lights pointing at the operator, seem somewhat blinding?

    I have seen similar rows of LED lights in stores, and they seem to be very bright!

    Thanks,

    Steve
     
  14. alank2

    alank2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    950
    10
    Hi,

    Thanks for the feedback Steve; I appreciate it.

    That is one of the reasons I recess the LED in the white tube - so its brightness is masked, but yet it can focus its light where it needs to.

    Thanks,

    Alan
     
    #14 alank2, Dec 11, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  15. njl

    njl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2000
    7,441
    379
    Location:
    :noitacoL
    I have similar LED strips on my RL550B and I actually had to reposition the ceiling strip because the left most LED was hanging down a bit and was in my direct line of sight, and it was annoyingly bright...and I'm only running them at 9V (not full brightness).
     
  16. SigFTW

    SigFTW
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    2,384
    30
    Location:
    TX
    I run with the LED row lights also and it's bright and provides plenty of light, it's mounted by the bullet seat die and it's not a problem.
     
  17. Kwesi

    Kwesi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    1,392
    3
    Location:
    TX
    SBray: I also have Alan's Press Monitor but found I needed more light. I have the LED strip mentioned above located at station 2 facing station 3. I did not care for the way the light is supposed to stay in place (folded wire pushed into the recessed area). It eventually would work free. Love the Press though!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Added an M-57 to my pistol collection General Firearms Forum Jan 30, 2015
Dillon 550b Shell Plate tough to turn Reloading Nov 4, 2013
Dollar Tree LED Light for the 550B! Reloading Jul 9, 2011
dillon 550B Reloading Feb 26, 2011
Looking to buy used Dillon 550b Reloading May 10, 2010
Duty Gear at CopsPlus