close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

AD-Aware 6.0

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by rhedley, Aug 6, 2004.


  1. rhedley

    rhedley
    Expand Collapse
    POCKET HOLSTERS

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    135
    0
    Location:
    WINTER HAVEN, FL., USA
    Can this program be double crossing me. It claims to rid you of *Data miners*, but my Norton keeps picking it up as a *threat*. I have a large file on it now, as I have been instructing Norton to exclude it. My Machine is acting strange, so I am searching for the problem..
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. powernoodle

    powernoodle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    461
    245
    Location:
    secret underground bunker
    I can't help you other than to say that I run Norton's, which updates daily, as well as Ad-Aware from time to time, and have never had the slightest glitch.

    Ad-Aware did erronously ask me to remove a couple of Microsoft files of some sort, which I did. Screwed things up until I restored the files using Ad-Aware. For giggles, you may want to go into Ad-Aware and look at the list of things it has removed to see if you have mistakenly removed something you shouldn't have. Thats likely not your problem, but its the only one I'v encountered.

    best regards
     

  3. Halo

    Halo
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1999
    222
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Norton may be finding the things that Ad-Aware puts into "quarantine."

    I am not sure how it works, since I don't use Norton, but it's also possible that it uses some heuristic method that flags any program that traverses and modifies the registry (which Ad-Aware does when it is seeking and removing certain spyware).
     
  4. SDBettas

    SDBettas
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    225
    0
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    As it's such a resource hog. Switched to Panda Antivirus and am very happy.
     
  5. rhedley

    rhedley
    Expand Collapse
    POCKET HOLSTERS

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    135
    0
    Location:
    WINTER HAVEN, FL., USA
    I am reading all this, it's very helpful. Please continue with anything you can think of..

    Thanks ALL.
     
  6. Alchemy

    Alchemy
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    5,354
    33
    Location:
    Oregon..
    Panda has not let one iota of virus into my computer. I can't
    recommend it enough!
     
  7. Halo

    Halo
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1999
    222
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Panda is good, although their customer service is terrible. I bought it online, with a link to download it. When I installed it, everything was in Spanish even though I had selected English. The first attempt to contact their customer support went ignored. A few weeks later I contacted them again, and they replied (two weeks later) with a link to a utility that would reset the language to English. It did not work.

    I just went back to McAfee, which has worked well and is less obtrusive than either Panda or Norton. But I have a beef with them too, regarding a mail-in rebate rip off. That's a whole separate rant. :)
     
  8. NMGlocker

    NMGlocker
    Expand Collapse
    BOOM headshot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    2,014
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    AVG Anti-Virus, it's free, it works, and it plays well with other programs including Spy-Bot and Ad-Aware 6.
    After installing those three programs along with ZoneAlarm, and switching to Firebird/Thunderbird for my internet and email I have been completely virus/spyware/pop-up/malware/etc. free.
    ^c
     
  9. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    1,569
    32
    Location:
    WV
    I second all the above (except the browser). I use Opera.
     
  10. Ffolkes

    Ffolkes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    623
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    What has to be done to get AVG to send me the activation number for their antivirus software? I downloaded a copy over a week ago and am supposed to be emailed the number. I finally had to get a number off the net to install it. It's working ok, but it makes me wonder how much effort is put into the virus defenitions if I can't even get them to give me a code on time... I also recommend F-Prot as a virus scanner, very reliable.
    __
    ffolkes.
     
  11. berniew

    berniew
    Expand Collapse
    Liberty

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    1,359
    0
    Location:
    MN
  12. troyboy30

    troyboy30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    164
    0
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    will it install over 6.0 or u need to remove then re-install? Looks like a whole diff product?
     
  13. berniew

    berniew
    Expand Collapse
    Liberty

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    1,359
    0
    Location:
    MN
    IT asks if you want to uninstall as part of the install. I would probably uninstall first
     
  14. NMGlocker

    NMGlocker
    Expand Collapse
    BOOM headshot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    2,014
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    My AVG activation number came almost instantly.
    If you have a SPAM filter installed, or your ISP has a filter installed it may have been intercepted.
    Try again and make sure your SPAM filters aren't catching it.
     
  15. MB-G26

    MB-G26
    Expand Collapse
    Bk2MiscResource
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    6,947
    1,100
    Location:
    Missing Sharon
    http://www.webtechgeek.com/IndexWTG.htm#adexp
    http://www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,117372,00.asp


    m