close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

357 sig help please

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by dirtyjoe, Aug 19, 2010.

1. dirtyjoe

dirtyjoe

Apr 14, 2010
    I have been reloading for only a few months. I started with 45 acp and I am comfortable and confident in my reloads in this caliber and have yet to have any FTF or FTE or any other problems.
    Now I am ready to try my hand at 357 sig for my G31. I am using Lee dies in a LCT. Using the info from you guys, I sized in a Lee 40 caliber carbide die first then in the Lee 357 sig die. I set my dies for my dummy rounds for case flare and bullet depth. I made 6 of these and tried to get bullet set back from thumb pressure and even placed nose of bullet on the bench and pressed as hard as I could and the bullets remained snug. All dropped in and out of the barrel smoothly and also chambered from the magazine 3 times without setback.
    My question is did I just get lucky on the bullet seating and crimp die??? I bought a 357 sig Lee FCD just as an extra safety measure and ran each dummy in it and could not tell that it was doing any work to the shell casing.
    I pulled the bullets from the 6 dummys and there were no signs of shavings or deformity. From what I have described, do you guys think I am ready to start my loads? Or am I missing something. I will be using Hornady 124 gr XTP and start with 11.7 grs of AA9 at 1.140 OAL. Your comments or suggestion are greatly appreciated. Dirtyjoe

2. fredj338

fredj338

Dec 22, 2004
    so.cal.