close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

229 vs 226

Discussion in 'The Sig Sauer Club' started by JordanL, Feb 14, 2010.

1. JordanL

JordanL
    Expand Collapse

Hello all. i have been going back and forth about the 226 and 229. im new to sigs since i only own a glock 22, but i am looking for a second pistol. i would go with the .40 cal to start with and then maybe pick up a .357 barrel. what are the differences/ similarities?

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 JordanL, Feb 14, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  2. Fire_Medic

Fire_Medic
    Expand Collapse
    Polymer Butcher
    CLM

I will make a comparison for you using Glocks since you're familiar with the platform. Think of the P226 as the G22 size wise, and the P229 as a G23 size wise.

Also the P229 is beefier and handles the 40SW better in the "long run", it was built for the 40SW while the P226 was originally made for the 9mm. The P229 is also the Carry gun for many federal agencies and their employees in either 40 SW (most used) or .357 Sig.

You can't go wrong either way. I just recently picked up a P229R in 40SW and couldn't be happier. Looking to a a P226R in the future.

3. MySiK26

MySiK26
    Expand Collapse

Back to 40sw?? Get that Dillon ready :supergrin: I shot the 23 yesterday at the range along with the AR and .22lr......good times.

4. Fire_Medic

Fire_Medic
    Expand Collapse
    Polymer Butcher
    CLM

The Dillon is always ready. :supergrin:

And not back to 40SW, added 40SW.

5. wingspar

wingspar
    Expand Collapse

That’s an interesting comparison. Cost may keep me from doing it, but I am interested in a P226 and a P229 in .40. I didn’t realize that kind of comparison. When I get somewhere I can look at both, I will. That’s how I decided on the G17 over the G19. The 19 was too small, and I’m not interested in CCW.