close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

1st 223 loads

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by ursoboostd, Aug 7, 2010.


  1. ursoboostd

    ursoboostd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    535
    0
    Location:
    Florence, Ky
    I got my 1st AR yesterday (Spikes tactical w/ mid length gas system) and loaded my 1st 30 rds of 223. Gonna shoot 100 rds of Remington bulk ammo 1st then my reloads. Hopefully have a succesful range report tomorrow. -Wade-

    Winchester 55 gr fmj
    23.9gr of Tac
    OAL= 2.24"
    Wolf 223 small rifle primers
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Zombie Steve

    Zombie Steve
    Expand Collapse
    Decap Pin Killa

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    18,074
    17
    Location:
    Old Colorado City
    Get your butler or ex-wife to pull the trigger on the first few. :whistling:



    Congrats. Post some pics.
     

  3. Hydraulicman

    Hydraulicman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    1,642
    0
    post pics of your targets. did you meter directly into the case to weigh every charge?
     
  4. ursoboostd

    ursoboostd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    535
    0
    Location:
    Florence, Ky
    Hopefully I'll have time to post pics tomorrow after the range. I used the Lee Double Disk set up on my LCT. I weighed about 10 charges. I actually couldn't believe how well it was metering. -Wade-
     
  5. peaman

    peaman
    Expand Collapse
    liberal look

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    214
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Did you make sure the case length was not over 1.76? If not so, you need to trim it down to 1.75 before reloading, really depending on the length of your chamber. I've actually, accidentally trimmed them down to 1.73 with no ill side effects. They say, if the case is to long, it may get pinched between the bullet and barrel, and explode. Trimming is one of the most important parts of rifle reloading. I reaload all 223 cases 1.76 inches and under. Anything over, i trim before reloading.
     
  6. ursoboostd

    ursoboostd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    535
    0
    Location:
    Florence, Ky
    Glad you brought that up. I was acutally curious what the + side of the length tolerance was? Sure its a little different for every rifle. The pieces of brass I loaded were all in between 1.75 and 1.760. I really didn't feel like trimming brass, so I set all the pieces that measured over 1.76 for later trimming. -Wade-
     
  7. peaman

    peaman
    Expand Collapse
    liberal look

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    214
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Also, of course, you measure the length after you resize it. Another thing, is it may not chamber in an ar15 if you are not using a small base sizing die. Well, mine still worked, but you cannot unload it without buttslapping it first, if you don't fire it. I had to order a rcbs small base sizer die, because my hornady die did not size the base small enough. The same went with my automatic 308.
     
  8. ursoboostd

    ursoboostd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    535
    0
    Location:
    Florence, Ky
    I'm using a lee full length sizing die. Hopefully it will work. -Wade-
     
  9. peaman

    peaman
    Expand Collapse
    liberal look

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    214
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I'm giiving you a heads up, from what i learned.:wavey: Loading rifle is alot more time consuming than pistol.
     
  10. PCJim

    PCJim
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    2,950
    1
    Location:
    FL
    Most AR rifles will run with brass reloaded using a full length sizing die. It is only those few that won't that would require the small base dies.
     
  11. ursoboostd

    ursoboostd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    535
    0
    Location:
    Florence, Ky
    Yeah I bought a 308 last month and I've been dipping and measuring one at a time. That takes forever. I'm "hoping" I can load 223 as fast as piston except for all the case prep of course. -Wade-
     
  12. ursoboostd

    ursoboostd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    535
    0
    Location:
    Florence, Ky
    All of these rounds went off without a hitch. I also loaded/shot 150 more at 25.2 grains. All is running pretty well out of my Spike Tactical Middy. -Wade-
     
  13. herdingcats

    herdingcats
    Expand Collapse
    still new

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    46
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Congrats on the new set-up. And I agree that rifle is much different than pistol reloading. I feel like pistol reloading is simple, fast and safe whereas rifle seems to take twice as long (or more) and is very slow in the case prep stages (I have about 7,000 223 cases I need to get to, that I just avoid like the plague). And per your comment, yes it is real quick to load 223 once the case prep is done.

    Have fun!