close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

1911 IWB Carry Help

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by joemannnnn, Aug 16, 2011.

1. joemannnnn

joemannnnn
    Expand Collapse

Hey Guys,
    I started to carry my DW CCO for the first time today. This is my first time carrying a 1911. I bought a holster from Kelley Gun Leather, it is similar to a VMII. The gun conceals real well, I carried at about 3-3:30. The only issue I have is when sitting. The grip safety will dig into my side, and the butt of the gun will restrict leaning back in chairs and while driving. I find myself sitting and adjusting discreetly. Is this all common? Any suggestions for improvement? The most uncomfortable part is the grip safety digging in, kinda wish the leather flap on back side was larger to cover or that I didn't have love handles. Should I keep an under shirt tucked in between? Thanks for the help
    Joe

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. faawrenchbndr

faawrenchbndr
    Expand Collapse
    DirtyThirty fan
    CLM

I'm not familiar with that holster,.......but with a commander in a Versa Max II,
    carried at 3:30 I do not have that problem at all. However we may be built a bit different.

3. lsbbigdog

lsbbigdog
    Expand Collapse

You have to find that sweet spot between ride height,cant and location. I tried a MS VMII and a summer special. For me they where not comfortable. I use a Crossbreed Supertuck. This way I can adjust height and cant and it disperses the weight of the gun very well.

4. Wade-19

Wade-19
    Expand Collapse

Well, I'm fat guy, and I love the VMII. I have one for all of the guns I might carry. I do wear a T-shirt between the holster and my skin though.

5. glock2740

glock2740
    Expand Collapse
    Gun lover.

I carry my CCO, and all of my other guns, :cool:, in a CBST. GREAT holster! :thumbsup:

6. Wade-19

Wade-19
    Expand Collapse

I also like the C-tac.

7. polizei1

polizei1
    Expand Collapse
    It WAS Quack