close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

155gr Gold Dots over XTPs in popularity ?

Discussion in '10mm Reloading Forum' started by preventec47, Apr 2, 2012.

1. preventec47

preventec47
    Expand Collapse

It seems like the consensus preference is the Gold Dots
    in that weight range based on recent posts and testing etc.
    Is that deserved ? Or is it based on the mission ? What I have
    concluded from all the info posted is that the XTPs are
    the tougher bullet in 155gr and thusly should outperform
    at very high velocities by holding together better and
    at lower velocities the Gold Dots expand more.
    Is that what most everyone else has concluded ?

I am not a pistol hunter and 155gr to me is the best
    overall compromise for Self Defense.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 preventec47, Apr 2, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2012
  2. Andrew Wiggin

Andrew Wiggin
    Expand Collapse

I'm pretty new to the 10mm and I can't speak for anyone else. The XTP has a general reputation - across calibers and weights - of doing poorly through clothing and barriers. The GDHP is very well regarded for opening well through clothing and doing very well through barriers. It is one of the best regarded JHPs on the market. Some folks argue that it over expands at 10mm velocity but I think that the pictures below disprove that. It is a 155gr GDHP I fired through water at approximately 1,375fps. I think the XTP is a lot more useful in heavier weights for animal defense and hunting. In that application the barrier and clothing performance is irrelevant and its tough construction is even more important. I'll be carrying 200gr XTPs this summer in rim country.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. gofastman

gofastman
    Expand Collapse

I would agree with this when compairing modern self defence bullets like the Tac-XP, GD, HST, etc.

But I would guess that they are at least as good as something like a Hydra-shok or a Silver tip.