GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2014, 20:20   #1
ricky
Senior Member
 
ricky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Miami, Fl.
Posts: 790
Do I need to break in a rifle????

A quick and simple question folks, do I really need to break in my new M4 rifle or is it bs???

In case your wondering it is a Bcm upper and lower with a hammer forged barrel and I wrote Bcm to see what they say.

But perhaps someone can explain it to me so I hopefully I can sight it in and enjoy immediately.

Cant wait to shoot this baby!!

__________________
Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah
ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 20:29   #2
fallenangelhim
come get some
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 369
I do not believe so. Armalite used to have a break in period of match bull barrels non chrome lined.

Chrome lined or "combat" rifles typically do not require a break in. Just shoot it. Clean it. Repeat. The bolt is the only thibg that may need a "break in." I had a tight bolt in a BCG and after 90 rounds it was functionally loose.
__________________
The Kalashnikov Klub Member #1999
fallenangelhim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 20:55   #3
K. Foster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mo.
Posts: 2,156
Whether or not you should break in a non-lined barrel is a debatable topic. However, there is no point to breaking in a chrome lined barrel.
Lube it up and run it hard. Have fun.
__________________
An amateur trains until he gets it right, a professional trains until he can't get it wrong.
K. Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 21:05   #4
dkf
Senior Member
 
dkf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,638
Lube, load and shoot. Clean when its dirty. Works for me.
dkf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 21:23   #5
10Krunner
Senior Member
 
10Krunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 899
If by "break in" you mean enjoy shooting the hell out of it, then yes you need to do quite a bit of of that.

In other words, your rifle is good to go.
__________________
Convenience has the highest markup.
10Krunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 22:04   #6
ricky
Senior Member
 
ricky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Miami, Fl.
Posts: 790
That's what i figured, I will oil up bolt,bcd rails and ch and all should be good.

Hopefully zeroing will not take too much ammo to accomplish.

By the way, I own an old school Acog made to mount on a carry handle and was wondering if there is a mount to adapt it to a flat top?
__________________
Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah Blah
ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 22:14   #7
dhoomonyou
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: florida
Posts: 5,006
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10Krunner View Post
If by "break in" you mean enjoy shooting the hell out of it, then yes you need to do quite a bit of of that.

In other words, your rifle is good to go.
Just like dancin shoes, tap tap tap
__________________
Big Dawg # 1190
40SW # 259
Florida Glockers Club # 711
Smith & Wesson Club # 711
Do not demand accomplishment from those with no talent.
dhoomonyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 22:20   #8
dkf
Senior Member
 
dkf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,638
Quote:
By the way, I own an old school Acog made to mount on a carry handle and was wondering if there is a mount to adapt it to a flat top?
Hopefully someone whom knows more about the ACOG than me can confirm. But I believe you just need a picatinny mount adapter for the ACOG to mount on a flat top.

http://www.opticsplanet.com/trijicon...l-adapter.html

Last edited by dkf; 09-21-2014 at 22:21..
dkf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 10:38   #9
fnfalman
Chicks Dig It
 
fnfalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: California & New Mexico, US
Posts: 57,300


I break my rifles in by shooting the hell out of it.

My precision rifles...that's a bit different.
__________________
Can you dig it?
fnfalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:11   #10
ReyFufuRulesAll
Pantless Wonder
 
ReyFufuRulesAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Suamico, Wisconsin
Posts: 8,205
Send a message via ICQ to ReyFufuRulesAll Send a message via AIM to ReyFufuRulesAll Send a message via MSN to ReyFufuRulesAll Send a message via Yahoo to ReyFufuRulesAll


Quote:
Originally Posted by fnfalman View Post
I break my rifles in by shooting the hell out of it.

My precision rifles...that's a bit different.
Explain please.
__________________
"Don't bring a knife to a chainsaw fight."-Fear Night
"I have more important things to do than wear pants."-my lil' bro

Anything you can't do pantless, isn't worth doing.
ReyFufuRulesAll is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 639
177 Members
462 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31