SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 06-04-2014, 19:57   #1
oldmonastery

New Glock...how to clean?

Hey guys-

I'm going to go out on a limb here and show my ignorance, but I need an answer haha.

I'm new to guns, and I recently bought a glock 19. As I'm sure many of you know, the gun has some orange-brown, rusty-looking lubrication on it that they must put on in the factory.

So my question is to you guys/gals: do you wipe that off and oil it yourselves before shooting it for the first time? Also, if you don't mind expounding on how you clean it in general when you get a brand new gun? I've just heard some horror stories of a guy who messed up his slide by firing it straight out of the box, and I don't want to repeat his mistake. Thanks for your time.

OM

Last edited by oldmonastery; 06-04-2014 at 19:58..
oldmonastery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 20:05   #2
1-2man
Part Time

Most recent discussion. Take from it what you will...

http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/show....php?t=1530910
1-2man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 21:17   #3
oldmonastery

Thank you, sir.
Old 06-04-2014, 22:18   #4
tinman517

Clean the barrel and start cycling ammo through it.
tinman517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 23:31   #5
misunderestimated

Good Luck with your new Glock, they are pretty indestructible, Shoot the heck out of it and enjoy.

If you are new to guns see if you can find a friend or maybe even the gun store whom you purchased it from to show you how to clean the gun properly. Up until this year (I had a knee replacement) I regularly compete allot with a couple of Glock. we normally go the entire season with out cleaning my Glocks. We have a gun cleaning party and do them all at once.

One of the benefits of a Glock is they need very little attention

Last edited by misunderestimated; 06-04-2014 at 23:31..
misunderestimated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 23:45   #6
Rustyinfla