SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 12-19-2013, 13:25   #1
Praelus

Glock 29 Failures

Hello all,

I recently purchased a new Glock 29 Gen 4, along with 2 Glock 20 15-round magazines, 3 Pearce PG-29 pinky extensions, and 2 A&G spacers. For ammunition, I purchased Underwood 135 grain JHP and 200 grain TMJ, along with a box of Remington UMC 180 grain FMJ.

On my first trip to the range, I experienced 3 failures in 74 rounds. I hadn't been expecting them, so I wasn't careful to note which ammo the failures occurred with. I am also relatively new to firearms, so I am not the most technically-savvy owner - and as a consequence I don't know exactly how to classify the failures, other than to say that on one of them the slide locked back with rounds still in the magazine, on another the slide moved forward but was blocked by the next round (a jam), and on the third the slide moved all the way forward but the trigger didn't appear to reset (if that's possible). I can also report that these failures occurred with both the 10 and 15-round magazines.

I was a bit disheartened by this result, so on the second trip I made more careful observations. To eliminate at least one variable, I loaded all five magazines with the same ammo (Underwood 180 grain TMJ). Unfortunately, I had many more failures than on the first trip, but mostly with the 15-round magazines. In fact, there was only one failure with the 10-round mags: on the first mag, the slide locked back before the last round had been fired.

The amount of failures with the 15-round mags was extreme - at least 7 failures on both mags! It seemed like I had to manually operate the slide after almost every round, so the weapon had effectively been reduced to something like a single action revolver - but considerably more cumbersome!