Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 09-08-2013, 10:39   #1
thekid75134

Most consistent Pistol Powder

Which pistol powder is the most consistent and doesn't change FPS at different altitudes or at least not as bad?

Thanks
thekid75134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 13:50   #2
SDGlock23
Glockoholic

I can't say there is any one that is the most consistent, but I've found Power Pistol to be on the most consistent powders I've tried. It doesn't hold a monopoly on consistency, but it does do a good job. It depends on the load too, every powder I've used has had both good results and not so good too.

Last edited by SDGlock23; 09-08-2013 at 13:51..
SDGlock23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 13:52   #3
jcountry

I am a total newbie, but I have gotten good results from unique.

The last of my loads of 9mm with unique and federal brass had a standard deviation of only 10 and an extreme spread of 32 in velocity. Very nice-in my book!
jcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 06:52   #4
8Ring

It is my understanding that gunpowder does not need oxygen from the air in order to burn. If so, the altitude should not effect initial velocities.

I think the nitrocellulose and nitroglycerine in gunpowder contain oxygen that it released on ignition.

Any amateur or professional chemists should step in and help us out.
8Ring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 07:05   #5
at_liberty

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekid75134 View Post
Which pistol powder is the most consistent and doesn't change FPS at different altitudes or at least not as bad?

Thanks
Don't they all run faster at higher altitudes? I would think you would need to measure at some serious distance from the muzzle to factor in enough air resistance to make a measurable difference. But then you risk shooting your chronograph.
Old 09-10-2013, 08:23   #6
Zombie Steve