Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 05-17-2013, 20:09   #1
avery53

Why Am I Shooting High?

I bought my Glock 19 a couple of months ago, it is my first Glock.
I have always been a 1911 and a revolver shooter, but this thing is giving me fits as to why I shoot it so high. ( 4" at 10 yds )
A buddy who shoots Glocks at the police matches, took it with him to one of their shoots. Three different excellent shooters tried it out, all said it shot dead on for them.
I don't have this problem with the 1911, so I must be doing something wrong.
I am using the same sight picture, but apparently I'm doing something stupid.
I'm not a newbie, been shooting handguns for 40+ years.
This thing has me stumped.
Any ideas?

Thanks avery
avery53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 20:17   #2
Fire_Medic
CLM Number 261
Polymer Butcher

The hump on the backstrap is making the gun point high for you, you're use to the thinner and flatter 1911 gun.

This is normal for a lot of folks new to Glocks, more so those that come from 1911's and are shooting one of the compact models.

If you take the gun (empty) in your hands and press out (like to point shoot) with your eyes closed, when you open your eyes the front sight will be high. It's a training issue but you can/will get passed it. Or buy one of the bigger frame models G17/etc and the issue might resolve as well. The hump on the bigger guns does not sit on the same place in your hand.

The other gentlemen had no issues because they're use to the Glock platform as you stated.

Florida Glockers Club #2250, BHP Club #2250, Niners Club #2250, G1 Niners Club #2250, Black Rifle Club #2250, S&W Club #2250, 40SW Club #2250

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒE

RIP GioaJack!