Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 03-07-2013, 16:27   #1
TravismPGA

Ruger SR9 vs. Glock 19... Opinions

Noob here, lots of experience with long guns and scatterguns but am looking to pick up my first auto pistol shortly. With glock being back ordered until may in my LGS, the guy there suggested the SR9 as an option. Who here has shot the gun and how did you like it? This will be a range gun, bedside gun, and carry gun (eventually). Any opinions are welcome, but I can have one in 2 weeks as opposed to two months if I wait for glock.
TravismPGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 16:27   #2
TravismPGA

Sorry- SR9 will be here in 2 weeks... Glock- 2 months min.
Old 03-07-2013, 16:42   #3
tuoinside

I have both... wait the two months.
Old 03-07-2013, 16:45   #4
TravismPGA

haha care to expound? I already know I don't like the frame safety on the SR9
Old 03-07-2013, 19:05   #5
donmor53

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuoinside View Post
I have both... wait the two months.

^^^ This!^^^

I have several Rugers AND Glocks so I'm certainly no Ruger basher BUT...in this case? There's no comparison...

Unless your life is in danger and you need something fast...get (or wait for if necessary for) the Glock...
donmor53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 20:12   #6
tuoinside

I too have multiple glocks and rugers... so not much fanboyism I hope. However, it always comes back to your need of use in making your decision. Here is a short list of things that stand out to me.

Things I like about the Glock:

- It's a Glock
- Have been around way longer than SR9
- More streamlined profile: no external safeties, gadgets, bevels, etc. It just seems and feels more smooth and "de-horned" when using, carrying, etc. the firearm. I always seem to catch my fat thumbs or fingers on the external safety and other parts that seem to get in the way of manipulating the weapon