Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 07:44   #1
jdw174
Senior Member
 
jdw174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 522
Talk to me about Wi-Fi....

I currently have DSL hookup. Can I just get a wireless router, plug in the DSL and use a wireless laptop anywhere in the house or am I missing something here?
jdw174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:47   #2
CitizenOfDreams
Senior Member
 
CitizenOfDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,117
Yes, that's exactly what wireless routers do. Connect it to your DSL modem, set it up and enjoy being wireless.
CitizenOfDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:51   #3
deerslayer01
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SW Virginia
Posts: 92
That is all there is too it, unless you have a very large house. Then you might have to add an access point or wi-fi extender. If you have neighbors close by, make sure you turn on the security features for your router so they cannot easily access it.
deerslayer01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:58   #4
jdw174
Senior Member
 
jdw174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 522
Thanks guys. Right now I'm just considering it. Have a desktop that has cables running all over the place. Only thing I hate to give up is my 20" monitor...:(
jdw174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:19   #5
crash22
Lost up north
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 24
Get a wreless adapter for your pc. It plugs into a usb port and allows wireless to your pc with the 20" monitor. About $20 and works great.
__________________
if you find yourself in a fair fight, you should change your tactics. The good guy should always win...
crash22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:24   #6
sbhaven
Senior Member
 
sbhaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Constitution State
Posts: 4,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw174 View Post
Thanks guys. Right now I'm just considering it. Have a desktop that has cables running all over the place. Only thing I hate to give up is my 20" monitor...:(
Why would you have to give up your 20" monitor?

Like crash22 said wireless usb adapters for the PC are cheap.
__________________
Currently hiding behind enemy lines in a Blue State.

Last edited by sbhaven; 02-22-2013 at 08:25..
sbhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:26   #7
Knellysford
CLM Number 21
CLM # 21
 
Knellysford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Near Gettysburg, PA
Posts: 85
So, Wi-Fi and wireless router are both the same animal???????
Knellysford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:33   #8
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,496


Quote:
Originally Posted by Knellysford View Post
So, Wi-Fi and wireless router are both the same animal???????
A wireless router uses Wi-Fi to connect to computers and other equipment (Roku, etc)

However you can get a Wireless Access Point (WAP) which uses Wi-Fi to connect but is not a router.

Wi-Fi just means the 802.11x standards of computer wireless connections.
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 11:43   #9
yellolab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 774
The router is the hardware that "converts" your incoming signal to wireless- thereby giving you a Wifi network.

Kevin
__________________
You have received an infraction at Glock Talk.
Reason: Insulted Other Member(s)
This infraction is worth 1 point(s) and may result in restricted access until it expires. Serious infractions will never expire.
yellolab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:48   #10
Don H
Senior Member
 
Don H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw174 View Post
I currently have DSL hookup. Can I just get a wireless router, plug in the DSL and use a wireless laptop anywhere in the house or am I missing something here?
If you do get a router be sure that you enable encryption like WPA2-PSK [AES]. Leaving your router open (unsecured) is not a good idea.
Don H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 13:37   #11
tcruse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 259
There are two radio bands currenly around 2.4gz and 5g. 2.4g is shared with a lot of other stuff but has better coverage in general. 2.4g has channels that overlap so there are really only 3 that can be used without some interference. 5g has much fewer conflicts and more full channels available. So get a "dual band N router/access point". Many routers can be configured to be an access point also. Repeaters are generally something to be avoided if possible. Always enable encryption to the level that your clients can support. WPA2 is probably the norm today.
tcruse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 00:23   #12
bill4282
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 81
You'll find that you can access the 'net from your wireless router cheaper than thru your phone carrier and I access the 'net with my Wii, IPhone, Nook, net book , laptop and printer thru the router. Means I can be downstairs on my IPhone and send a doc to the printer without climbing stairs.
bill4282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:50   #13
droidfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: All over, United States.
Posts: 2,108
Has everyone forgotten that wireless routers generally have physical ports - you could keep your same wired connection to the computer, nothing changes except you have wifi access to everything the computer has through the cable...
droidfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:37   #14
sbhaven
Senior Member
 
sbhaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Constitution State
Posts: 4,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidfire View Post
Has everyone forgotten that wireless routers generally have physical ports - you could keep your same wired connection to the computer, nothing changes except you have wifi access to everything the computer has through the cable...
The op asked about using their wireless laptop anywhere in their home. Much easier to do that wirelessly then stringing Ethernet wire all over one's home.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Currently hiding behind enemy lines in a Blue State.
sbhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:35   #15
costanza187
I like Macs
 
costanza187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: =^..^= Litter Box
Posts: 11,180
Run the cable from the DSL/Cable modem into the "in" jack on the router. It might require a little setup, but it is really easy... you might want to password protect your network.

After the initial setup, you can use wireless laptops (which i think they all are now), iPod Touch, XBOX 360. Wii, Blu-Ray players etc... on your network.

Yes I think most wireless routers have like 4 ports to accommodate non-wireless stuff.
__________________
I'm so much cooler online.
costanza187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 11:00   #16
Ralff
Senior Member
 
Ralff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central FL
Posts: 1,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidfire View Post
Has everyone forgotten that wireless routers generally have physical ports - you could keep your same wired connection to the computer, nothing changes except you have wifi access to everything the computer has through the cable...
I did not find this post hard to understand, but it seems that some did.
Ralff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 15:30   #17
bill4282
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 81
I have a router and modem but can't get my cordless home phone to connect with my DVD player 😃
bill4282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 15:42   #18
DWARREN123
Grumpy Old Guy
 
DWARREN123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CLARKSVILLE TN
Posts: 4,545
Just make sure the wireless router has the distance you need for your house.
I use a Netgear N300 for up to 25/35 ft. works well.
__________________
Have a Nice Day
DWARREN123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 17:30   #19
Drjones
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CA, just outside the United States
Posts: 17,912
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via AIM to Drjones


No, it's not that simple.

I know with AT&T DSL you have to put the modem into "bridged" mode and then enter the user/pass combo they give you into the proper section on the router.

It's extremely easy and unless you're a total idiot your ISP tech support could walk you through it in 10 minutes, but it's probably not plug & play, at least not with AT&T's DSL.
__________________
The danger to America is not Barack Obama, but a citizenry capable of entrusting a man like him with the Presidency.
Drjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 22:13   #20
Ralff
Senior Member
 
Ralff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central FL
Posts: 1,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drjones View Post
No, it's not that simple.

I know with AT&T DSL you have to put the modem into "bridged" mode and then enter the user/pass combo they give you into the proper section on the router.

It's extremely easy and unless you're a total idiot your ISP tech support could walk you through it in 10 minutes, but it's probably not plug & play, at least not with AT&T's DSL.
That's odd ... I had ATT DSL a few years ago and once your connection was active it supported a router set to DHCP just fine. Just sounds weird that you'd have to set your modem to bridged mode just to supply an IP to your computer/router/whatever device was first in chain.
Ralff is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,003
287 Members
716 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31