Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 02-06-2013, 13:58   #1
chucky2

New Glock 20: What to use for break-in ammo?

I finally ordered the Gen4 Glock 20 and I'm starting to think about (and acquire) what I'll need for it when it gets here. For lube I decided to try some of that Froglube stuff. I've ordered a 10mm->.40 conversion barrel from KKM. For the fun stuff and home defense, I ordered some Underwood 135 gr. hollow points.

I'm wondering though, is there some clean burning, preferably weak (I'm new to pistol shooting), 10mm ammo that I can run through the new G20 to break it in with the stock barrel? Heck, even if it's not clean burning, what cheap range ammo would you guys recommend?

(and for those of you from my other thread, I've decided that Yes I'm going to try and get one of those Advantage Arms .22 conversion kits. The allure of shooting for virtually free is just too much.)

Thanks for any info and/or perspective here!

Chuck

Last edited by chucky2; 02-06-2013 at 14:00..
chucky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 18:55   #2
JackMac

dont need to break in a Glock in my humble opinion
Old 02-06-2013, 19:00   #3
davsco

really no break in needed. if you will be using for defense, shoot what you plan to use thru it just to confirm all is well and verify point of impact. run thru each mag to ensure it's functioning. then have fun.
davsco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 19:04   #4
GIG4FUN

break in... may be something for me to learn. I never knew.
SArmory XDm.45compact - H&K .45c / NRA member
S&W & Browning & Ruger & Winchester & Remington
GIG4FUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 19:04   #5
Ryno12
NRA Life Member

Yeah, I didn't "break in" my G20 either. Any store bought Federal or Remington ammo is pretty weak, if that's what you want. You may also want to consider reloading for your 10mm.