GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 17:06   #26
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
I messed up - please see next post!

Jim

Last edited by Jim1970; 11-14-2012 at 17:18.. Reason: To add info
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 17:15   #27
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Hello,

Finally got a chance to get back to working on this issue today. It took all of 2 minutes to plug in, enter the commands, and for Ubuntu to do the necessary downloading. I am happy to report that my wife's Dell Inspiron 1501 is connecting wirelessly to the internet!

Thanks IGF! You da man!

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:18   #28
IndyGunFreak
RIP My Friends
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29,693
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1970 View Post
Hello,

Finally got a chance to get back to working on this issue today. It took all of 2 minutes to plug in, enter the commands, and for Ubuntu to do the necessary downloading. I am happy to report that my wife's Dell Inspiron 1501 is connecting wirelessly to the internet!

Thanks IGF! You da man!

Jim
Glad you got it going.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GioaJack View Post
The fire is no longer my major concern since I am leaving immediately on an unexpected road trip to Indianapolis. Watch the national news over the next couple of days, I'll wave... well, only if I'm cuffed in the front.
RIP Jack
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:01   #29
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Hello,

Continuing my learning quest, I did some research on the need for anti-virus software for Ubuntu. What I read was that the best thing to do is to activate the built-in firewall. So, I found the command for that, and turned it on. Real simple!

Question for the Ubuntu users: do you run anything in addition to the firewall?

Thank you,

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:07   #30
IndyGunFreak
RIP My Friends
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29,693
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1970 View Post
Hello,

Continuing my learning quest, I did some research on the need for anti-virus software for Ubuntu. What I read was that the best thing to do is to activate the built-in firewall. So, I found the command for that, and turned it on. Real simple!

Question for the Ubuntu users: do you run anything in addition to the firewall?

Thank you,

Jim
I don't even run the software firewall actually (just sit behind my home router). Only way you'd need antivirus is if you're downloading files that could contain viruses on Linux, and transferring them to Windows machines. Things like pictures, in most cases movies, music, etc... should be no problem.

If you start downloading torrents of programs, etc.. it might be a good idea to go ahead and get antivirus for Ubuntu.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GioaJack View Post
The fire is no longer my major concern since I am leaving immediately on an unexpected road trip to Indianapolis. Watch the national news over the next couple of days, I'll wave... well, only if I'm cuffed in the front.
RIP Jack
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:28   #31
captainstormy
Senior Member
 
captainstormy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 3,931
Send a message via ICQ to captainstormy Send a message via AIM to captainstormy Send a message via Yahoo to captainstormy
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak View Post
I don't even run the software firewall actually (just sit behind my home router). Only way you'd need antivirus is if you're downloading files that could contain viruses on Linux, and transferring them to Windows machines. Things like pictures, in most cases movies, music, etc... should be no problem.

If you start downloading torrents of programs, etc.. it might be a good idea to go ahead and get antivirus for Ubuntu.
Firewall isn't a bad idea, I use it but it probably isn't really needed.

Anti Virals for Linux just scan for various windows virus's so there really isn't a need to protect yourself.
__________________
I won't be wronged. I won't be insulted. I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them. - John Bernard Books(John Wayne in The Shootist)
captainstormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:53   #32
fwm
Senior Member
 
fwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Central US
Posts: 2,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Detectorist View Post
And this, folks, is why Linux isn't on every desktop.

I have a windows machine I've been trying for three years to get all of the graphics card functions to work properly on. These type of problems are not unique to Linux. There are just more windows gurus to help with windows problems.

'All in wonder' card with cable input and writing capabilities. Worked fine in Windows 2000. Used it as a home made DVR. Had to upgrade to WINXP. Now the card will only display the screen and NO functionality. There are many instances where windows will not work properly with technology.
__________________
fwm
fwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 19:39   #33
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Okay, need more help, please.

Wife loves Ubuntu, and has asked that I make her machine a dedicated Ubuntu machine. I have removed all of her important documents and photos. How do I remove the windows partition and make her machine exclusively Ubuntu?

Thank you!

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 22:32   #34
IndyGunFreak
RIP My Friends
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29,693
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1970 View Post
Okay, need more help, please.

Wife loves Ubuntu, and has asked that I make her machine a dedicated Ubuntu machine. I have removed all of her important documents and photos. How do I remove the windows partition and make her machine exclusively Ubuntu?

Thank you!

Jim
You'll have to reinstall. There's other ways to do it, but honestly, it's way way easier to just reinstall.

Let me make this suggestion. Don't nuke Windows just yet. I've seen this trend before.. someone tries Ubuntu, they love it, they nuke Windows 2 days later. About a week later, they find something they can't figure out an answer to, and they immediately reinstall Windows (if they're lucky enough to still have the disks)...

You're both still learning this OS... My suggestion... Dual boot for 3-4mo at least. By then, any quirks, problems, etc.. you may have you will have run into and hopefully figured out. If something comes up that is insurmountable, you have Windows to fall back on..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GioaJack View Post
The fire is no longer my major concern since I am leaving immediately on an unexpected road trip to Indianapolis. Watch the national news over the next couple of days, I'll wave... well, only if I'm cuffed in the front.
RIP Jack

Last edited by IndyGunFreak; 11-15-2012 at 22:49..
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 23:06   #35
captainstormy
Senior Member
 
captainstormy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 3,931
Send a message via ICQ to captainstormy Send a message via AIM to captainstormy Send a message via Yahoo to captainstormy
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak View Post
You'll have to reinstall. There's other ways to do it, but honestly, it's way way easier to just reinstall.

Let me make this suggestion. Don't nuke Windows just yet. I've seen this trend before.. someone tries Ubuntu, they love it, they nuke Windows 2 days later. About a week later, they find something they can't figure out an answer to, and they immediately reinstall Windows (if they're lucky enough to still have the disks)...

You're both still learning this OS... My suggestion... Dual boot for 3-4mo at least. By then, any quirks, problems, etc.. you may have you will have run into and hopefully figured out. If something comes up that is insurmountable, you have Windows to fall back on..
That's what I would suggest. Give it a while till the shiny new feeling wears off and if you still want to do it then you can.

Installing again and using the whole disk is probably best. You could try something like gparted to remove the windows partitions and realize your Linux one to take the whole drive.

You'll need to update your grub to remove the option to boot windows as well.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
I won't be wronged. I won't be insulted. I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them. - John Bernard Books(John Wayne in The Shootist)
captainstormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 23:18   #36
IndyGunFreak
RIP My Friends
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29,693
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by captainstormy View Post
You could try something like gparted to remove the windows partitions and realize your Linux one to take the whole drive.
This was really my point... You could boot a live CD/USB, use Gparted to format the windows partition, then use gparted to expand your Linux partition to take that whole drive..

Lets say for the sake of argument, the hard drive is 80-120gigs, and the current Windows partition, is probably around 40-60gigs... It would take a LONG time to resize and reallocate 40-60gigs(I'm thinking several hours). If you have your data backed up, Boot the Install cd/usb, and you can do a "complete" install (where it takes over the whole drive) in about 15min.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GioaJack View Post
The fire is no longer my major concern since I am leaving immediately on an unexpected road trip to Indianapolis. Watch the national news over the next couple of days, I'll wave... well, only if I'm cuffed in the front.
RIP Jack

Last edited by IndyGunFreak; 11-15-2012 at 23:19..
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:17   #37
captainstormy
Senior Member
 
captainstormy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 3,931
Send a message via ICQ to captainstormy Send a message via AIM to captainstormy Send a message via Yahoo to captainstormy
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak View Post
This was really my point... You could boot a live CD/USB, use Gparted to format the windows partition, then use gparted to expand your Linux partition to take that whole drive..

Lets say for the sake of argument, the hard drive is 80-120gigs, and the current Windows partition, is probably around 40-60gigs... It would take a LONG time to resize and reallocate 40-60gigs(I'm thinking several hours). If you have your data backed up, Boot the Install cd/usb, and you can do a "complete" install (where it takes over the whole drive) in about 15min.
I agree that reinstalling would be the best bet. Just giving some options.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
I won't be wronged. I won't be insulted. I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them. - John Bernard Books(John Wayne in The Shootist)
captainstormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:32   #38
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Hello,

I appreciate both sets of input here. Thank you!

Both of the computers that I have put Ubuntu on were literally in a drawer, awaiting a trip to the shooting range to be "disposed of." They stopped working well with Windows for whatever reason, and we moved on and bought new machines. Ubuntu has brought two machines that I thought were trash back to life.

We have an HP netbook that runs like a raped ape - it has all the Windows and Office software we use and might need in the future.

So, I'm installing Ubuntu on her machine as I type this message. I will go back and fix the wireless issue (thanks IGF), and then I will go get her preferred browser (Chrome).

Thanks again for the help!

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:59   #39
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Well, so much for a clean install being simple! Ugh.

I did the install, no trouble. Once it was completed, I plugged into my network and typed in the "sudo" commands given here on GT to get my broadcomm hardware to work wirelessly. Typed the commands in, computer did all the same stuff as before, then I restarted my machine. I anticipated that the computer would auto-detect the network, as it did before. This time: nothing. I've gone in and manually configured the settings for my network (name, password), but I cannot get it to see the wireless network.

HELP!

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:15   #40
IndyGunFreak
RIP My Friends
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29,693
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1970 View Post
Well, so much for a clean install being simple! Ugh.

I did the install, no trouble. Once it was completed, I plugged into my network and typed in the "sudo" commands given here on GT to get my broadcomm hardware to work wirelessly. Typed the commands in, computer did all the same stuff as before, then I restarted my machine. I anticipated that the computer would auto-detect the network, as it did before. This time: nothing. I've gone in and manually configured the settings for my network (name, password), but I cannot get it to see the wireless network.

HELP!

Jim
Did you activate the driver?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GioaJack View Post
The fire is no longer my major concern since I am leaving immediately on an unexpected road trip to Indianapolis. Watch the national news over the next couple of days, I'll wave... well, only if I'm cuffed in the front.
RIP Jack
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:17   #41
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Beyond what I described, that's it. Last time I didn't go in and activate anything - at least not as far as I recall.

Right now I'm installing updates - 222 of them, to be exact.

Once that's done, how do I activate the driver?

Thank you!

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:24   #42
IndyGunFreak
RIP My Friends
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29,693
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1970 View Post
Beyond what I described, that's it. Last time I didn't go in and activate anything - at least not as far as I recall.

Right now I'm installing updates - 222 of them, to be exact.

Once that's done, how do I activate the driver?

Thank you!

Jim
Surprised you didn't have to last time..

Go to Additional Drivers, Highlight the b43 driver, and click Activate.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GioaJack View Post
The fire is no longer my major concern since I am leaving immediately on an unexpected road trip to Indianapolis. Watch the national news over the next couple of days, I'll wave... well, only if I'm cuffed in the front.
RIP Jack
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:32   #43
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Man, I'm really having a tough go of this install. Nothing is working like the first effort.

I am receiving odd error messages. I will post pics of the screen.

I notice the computer is running very, very slow. It is plugged directly into my network via ethernet cable. I was unable to complete the software updates because the computer seemed to be hung up.

Any ideas as to what's up?

Thanks,

Jim

Last edited by Jim1970; 03-30-2013 at 21:23..
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:33   #44
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
This is a picture of the second error message screen.

Jim

Last edited by Jim1970; 03-30-2013 at 21:23..
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:37   #45
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Another odd message.

In addition, I've lost use of the mouse trackpad. From the last screen, I was able to use 'tab' and enter to move on. This is the screen that came up after - and I'm stuck - tab and mouse dead.

Maybe I just need to do another install?

Help!

Jim

Last edited by Jim1970; 03-30-2013 at 21:23..
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:58   #46
Detectorist
Senior Member
 
Detectorist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Robertsville, MO
Posts: 7,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by fwm View Post
I have a windows machine I've been trying for three years to get all of the graphics card functions to work properly on. These type of problems are not unique to Linux. There are just more windows gurus to help with windows problems.

'All in wonder' card with cable input and writing capabilities. Worked fine in Windows 2000. Used it as a home made DVR. Had to upgrade to WINXP. Now the card will only display the screen and NO functionality. There are many instances where windows will not work properly with technology.
Does their web site have specific drivers for XP? does that company support the card with XP? Did you contact their tech support?
__________________
NASM-Certified Personal Trainer

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place. George Bernard Shaw
Detectorist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:07   #47
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Update: damn this is frustating!

Since my last post, I have done a completely fresh install of Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. Before, when dual-booting between Ubuntu and Windows XP, and after a lot of help here, everything worked fine. Now, I cannot get the computer to see my wireless network. I've done some reading online through the Ubuntu forums, and I've tried some of the different "sudo" commands, to no avail.

Any unput welcome!

Thank you,

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 14:18   #48
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
Update: I got it!

After many hours of reading and searching and trying every stinking thing I could try, I finally got it! I have cut and pasted what I did:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
sudo apt-get remove bcmwl-kernel-source
sudo reboot

Finally!

The lesson is that the answer is out there, but it may take some patience and focus to find it!

Thanks to everyone here for their help and support.

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 14:25   #49
WiskyT
Malcontent
 
WiskyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1970 View Post
Update: I got it!

After many hours of reading and searching and trying every stinking thing I could try, I finally got it! I have cut and pasted what I did:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
sudo apt-get remove bcmwl-kernel-source
sudo reboot

Finally!

The lesson is that the answer is out there, but it may take some patience and focus to find it!

Thanks to everyone here for their help and support.

Jim
Like anything else, you will get better at it. Small problems were a big deal to me when I first got into Linux (Ubuntu). Then the small problems got easier for me to fix.

One skill I have developed is to be able to weed through the online solutions. Generally, there is an idiot proof, cut and paste, or simply "click this, click that" way to fix things. But when you search for a solution you will find 15 fixes. Out of 15, 5 are simply incorrect and the people writing them have no idea what they are talking about. Eight of them are correct, but they are of a very technical nature that are simply out of my league. But, two of them will be solutions that a simpleton like me can use. So what I've actually gotten good at is discerning the easy solutions.
__________________
Drugs are bad because if you do drugs you're a hippie and hippies suck.
Eric Cartman


"If you kill enough of them, they stop fighting."-General Curtis E. LeMay
WiskyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 14:34   #50
Jim1970
Learnin'
 
Jim1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 801
WhiskyT,

You nailed it. I tried a dozen or so "fixes" to my problem, and only one worked. That's a pretty poor ratio; but for open source, that might be the norm.

From this point forward, I think the challenge becomes finding a consistently good source for solutions. GT has been great, but I know I need to find other sources.

Jim
Jim1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,413
403 Members
1,010 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42