Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 11-07-2012, 11:09   #1
SiGlockBoy

Smith and Wesson J-Frame Apex Trigger Kit

Like many people who own and carry Glocks, I carry a Smith & Wesson J Frame Model 638 also. Forget the
hype about DA only in court as I've not seen one case in 30 years that has resulted in a prosecution for cocking the hammer on a DA/SA revolver in a justifiied shooting.

No, I'm not a lawyer but I read as much as I can from people who do go to court. But I digress as this is not about that.

I am placing this here instead of the gunsmith section(Changed my mind) as I believe it could be of help to shooters as well as others who like to tinker. I also feel it's more user geared even though it has technical goo mixed in.

What this is about is that many people have been talked into the DA only versions like the 442/642 and when
the trigger pull becomes too much for them, they want to sell an otherwise perfect gun to find something that
has less pull. Too many people jump on the bandwagon without question or knowledge. I personally think the 638
is the best choice and don't want to have the wonderful SA removed.

**Please keep responses to trigger pull and let's not get into the debate of DA vs. SA as it's been talked about enough. Just remember not everybody is strong and healthy. Maybe someone has weak hands due to illness or arthritus or "trigger finger". Yes it's a real issue and my wife has dealt with it for several years now. Basically the tendon sheath irratates the tendon enough to start to form a bump and not allow it to slide through the sheaths anymore.

She can grip something and the finger won't open back up on its own. She likes her GLock 26 and luckily can still
pull the slide back due to using the whole hand strength. Others can't.