GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 08:47   #1
JerryVO
Senior Member
 
JerryVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 917
Is loctite necessary

I am in the final stages of building my ar. Everything is assembled and loosely hand tightened to make sure it all fits and I am ready to start torquing everything to spec. I have seen quite a few posts on this and other forums where people use loctite blue in various spots but these are also usually the people who hand tighten the hell out of everything and don't use a torque wrench. If I torque everything to spec is there any reason for loctite on anything or are there places I should use it anyway just to be safe?
__________________

JerryVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:12   #2
Made in Austria
Senior Member
 
Made in Austria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,730
No loctite on the barrel nut. The buffer tube castle nut should be staked. Some people prefer to not stake the castle nut because it's easier to remove in case someone wants to change the end plate/sling adaptor or something later on. Some use a little blue loctite on the castle nut to secure it, some apply nothing. It either comes loose or it will stay on tight forever, it's a gamble. Are you running an standard A2 front sight tower or an screw clamp on type gas block/sight?

Last edited by Made in Austria; 10-11-2012 at 09:20..
Made in Austria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:49   #3
WoodenPlank
Who?
 
WoodenPlank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 7,777
Absolutely no loc-tite on the barrel nut.

As long as parts are in spec, and castle nut is torqued to spec, it's not needed on the castle nut or buffer tube, either. Staking it is a good insurance policy.

Not needed on the pistol grip screw, so long as you used the proper lock washer (should have come with grip/LPK).

Not needed on trigger guard allen screw, either.

Anything else that screws in (ie: rail systems, QD sling adapter on your stock, etc) should come with factory thread locker on any screws that require it. For example, the 6 allen bolts for the Daniel Defense RIS II rails that bolt the rail to the backplate come with blue thread lock on them, but the 4 screws attaching the bottom rail do not.
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
WoodenPlank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 14:14   #4
Big Bird
NRA Life Member
 
Big Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,440
The only thing I loctite on my AR's are the scope/red-dot mounting screws and all the screws associated with the rail and accessories. If you have a gas block mounted with screws they should be used with Red loc-tite. I stake my castle nut--its too easy not to do and it doesn't make disassembly as hard as some people make out.
__________________
Big Bird,

“Est Nulla Via Invia Virute”
Big Bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 15:19   #5
G23Adam
.- -.. .- --
 
G23Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 1,274


I blue loctite BUIS screws, any screws on mounting hardware, that kind of thing. Rocksett on the muzzle device, and red loctite on the gas block set screws if equipped.
__________________
NRA Member - GSSF Member - .40 S&W Club #133 - 1911 Club #133 - Freemason's Lodge #133 - Black Rifle Club #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
G23Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 20:13   #6
Cole125
Silver Membership
Senior Member
 
Cole125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far West, USA
Posts: 7,593
Loc tite is necessary on the buffer tube castle nut if your not going to stake it. It's also necessary on back up iron sight screws.

As said above, NO NOT use it on the barrel nut.

If you have a low profile gas block, send the barrel/gas block to ADCO and get it pinned. Even with set screws it can and will move making your rifle useless.

Last edited by Cole125; 10-11-2012 at 20:15..
Cole125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 20:39   #7
WoodenPlank
Who?
 
WoodenPlank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 7,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole125 View Post
Loc tite is necessary on the buffer tube castle nut if your not going to stake it. It's also necessary on back up iron sight screws.

As said above, NO NOT use it on the barrel nut.

If you have a low profile gas block, send the barrel/gas block to ADCO and get it pinned. Even with set screws it can and will move making your rifle useless.
My current lower setup is the only one I have ever had staked, and none of the previous ones had thread locker on them. They WERE torqued to spec, and not a single one ever came loose, even when they were run hard.
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
WoodenPlank is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 13:58.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,106
324 Members
782 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42