Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2012, 07:08   #1
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,286
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Need some networking help

I'm sure I'm just missing something, but I just can't figure this out.

I just moved and got my services connected at the new address. Also switched from Brighthouse to Xfinity Comcast. It works fine when I cable the modem to one of the laptops. So the connection is good.

Router (Netgear WNDR3300). I reset the router to clear any settings I had previously. Went through the "setup" process (from the web manager page, not w/ the cd), and it completes, but I cannot get online (via cable or wireless). The setup wizard says it is detecting a dhcp connection, but when I do some googling, it says that xfinity is all static.

Here's the output of ipconfig /all (when directly connected to the modem)

Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Ken>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ken-laptop
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8152/8158 PCI-E Fast Ethernet C
ontroller (NDIS 6.20)
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-6C-EB-5C-CE
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:558:6033:22:cdd:aaf4:33e7:9e91(Prefe
rred)
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 13, 2012 8:37:26 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 8:37:25 AM
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::608c:f5c2:fc5c:a85f%13(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 98.228.105.58(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 13, 2012 8:37:29 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 8:28:47 AM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::201:5cff:fe24:9e41%13
                                       98.228.104.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 69.252.202.4
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 335554156
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-7C-F0-3E-E0-CA-94-9F-03-F7

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:558:feed::1
                                       2001:558:feed::2
                                       75.75.75.75
                                       75.75.76.76
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8188CE Wireless LAN 802.11n PC
I-E NIC
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-CA-94-9F-03-F7
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.in.comcast.net.:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:10ac:185e:9d1b:96c5(Pref
erred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::10ac:185e:9d1b:96c5%14(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Ken>
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:06   #2
jpa
CLM Number 268
Charter Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Las Vegas NV
Posts: 10,294
Send a message via AIM to jpa Send a message via Yahoo to jpa
First and most obvious, have you tried turning it off and on again? (Sorry, IT Crowd was on last night) but seriously, when you plugged the router into the cable modem, you power cycled the modem and then the router, right? I've noticed that some cable or dsl modems get hung up on one MAC address until they're reset so moving the cable from one device to another without power cycling can be a problem. If you already did that, try going into the web interface for your router and look for a button to "release and renew" your external IP address or "WAN" Ip address. XFinity probably assigns a static IP to your modem's MAC address that may be managed via a dhcp server.
__________________
Big Dawg #1408, TT #1408
Moto Club #1408, GSSF Member, NRA RSO
NRA Benefactor Member
jpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:21   #3
fgutie35
Senior Member
 
fgutie35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: deep southeast Texas
Posts: 2,688
It looks like you may need to flush your DNS on your netgear router.
__________________
A good firearm, is the one that puts food on the table.
fgutie35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:25   #4
Merlin40
Merlin40
 
Merlin40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Posts: 160
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak View Post
I'm sure I'm just missing something, but I just can't figure this out.

I just moved and got my services connected at the new address. Also switched from Brighthouse to Xfinity Comcast. It works fine when I cable the modem to one of the laptops. So the connection is good.

Router (Netgear WNDR3300). I reset the router to clear any settings I had previously. Went through the "setup" process (from the web manager page, not w/ the cd), and it completes, but I cannot get online (via cable or wireless). The setup wizard says it is detecting a dhcp connection, but when I do some googling, it says that xfinity is all static.

Here's the output of ipconfig /all (when directly connected to the modem)

Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
 
C:\Users\Ken>ipconfig /all
 
Windows IP Configuration
 
   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ken-laptop
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
 
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
 
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8152/8158 PCI-E Fast Ethernet C
ontroller (NDIS 6.20)
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-6C-EB-5C-CE
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:558:6033:22:cdd:aaf4:33e7:9e91(Prefe
rred)
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 13, 2012 8:37:26 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 8:37:25 AM
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::608c:f5c2:fc5c:a85f%13(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 98.228.105.58(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 13, 2012 8:37:29 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 8:28:47 AM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::201:5cff:fe24:9e41%13
                                       98.228.104.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 69.252.202.4
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 335554156
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-7C-F0-3E-E0-CA-94-9F-03-F7
 
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:558:feed::1
                                       2001:558:feed::2
                                       75.75.75.75
                                       75.75.76.76
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
 
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
 
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8188CE Wireless LAN 802.11n PC
I-E NIC
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-CA-94-9F-03-F7
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 
Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.in.comcast.net.:
 
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
 
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:10ac:185e:9d1b:96c5(Pref
erred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::10ac:185e:9d1b:96c5%14(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
 
Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:
 
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 
C:\Users\Ken>
Make sure you have IPv4 checked in your advanced Internet Options. It also looks like you don't have the router configured properly. I see IP Routing is not enabled. You have to give the router permission to "see" the IP. hope this was helpful.
Merlin40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:46   #5
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,286
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin40 View Post
Make sure you have IPv4 checked in your advanced Internet Options. It also looks like you don't have the router configured properly. I see IP Routing is not enabled. You have to give the router permission to "see" the IP. hope this was helpful.
The router is set up as it has always been setup. For some reason, the router is not getting online. When I log into the router and look at the "connection details" it's all zeros.

As for flushing the DNS.... I did a factory reset on the router, so... I'm not sure how much more I could have reset it.

I did not try power cycling the two items, I did try to "release and renew" my IP addresses, with no luck. I'll take another crack at it here in a while, it's driving me batty right now.
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 12:29   #6
Pierre!
NRA Life Member
 
Pierre!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lovin Sparks Nv!
Posts: 4,163
I don't see too many home networks where the connected system's IP address is this range - 98.228.105.58

Usually we see the familiar "192.168.1.0' network range...

Looks like windows isn't getting an address - you have DHCP setup to assign your 'client' system an address?

that's probably why the other poster suggested to perform the ipconfig release and ipconfig renew commands.

If that doesn't get it, perform a manual setup - I have given up on any "Wizards" that come with routers these days...

Make sense?

UPDATE - Just re-read your second post - Yah, power cycle is pretty much essential - You know the drill - Modem first until lights stabilize, then turn the router on and see what happens.

HTH...

Patrick
(Who refrained from making a "Install Linux" comment - almost refrained that is.... )
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


Download YOUR copy of
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

My Gift to You, AND it's >FREE<

Last edited by Pierre!; 10-13-2012 at 12:31..
Pierre! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 12:34   #7
Jon_R
Silver Membership
Senior Member
 
Jon_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,724
I don't know your issue but will share what I had to do to get mine to work after seeing issues like yours.

I had to unplug my cable modem and disconnected the battery to it for a few seconds then put the battery back in and plug power back in. My theory is the modem holds the first MAC it sees on the inside interface and ignores other MACs. Doing what I described dropped the learned MAC and told the modem to learn a new one.
Jon_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 18:00   #8
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,286
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre! View Post
I don't see too many home networks where the connected system's IP address is this range - 98.228.105.58

Usually we see the familiar "192.168.1.0' network range...

Looks like windows isn't getting an address - you have DHCP setup to assign your 'client' system an address?

that's probably why the other poster suggested to perform the ipconfig release and ipconfig renew commands.

If that doesn't get it, perform a manual setup - I have given up on any "Wizards" that come with routers these days...

Make sense?

UPDATE - Just re-read your second post - Yah, power cycle is pretty much essential - You know the drill - Modem first until lights stabilize, then turn the router on and see what happens.

HTH...

Patrick
(Who refrained from making a "Install Linux" comment - almost refrained that is.... )
Ha... I had to boot windows just to post information you people would understand . That output I posted earlier, was posted w/o being connected to the router (directly to the modem, thought I mentioned that). I posted it, because I thought maybe it would give some idea as to what settings in my router I needed to check.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpa View Post
First and most obvious, have you tried turning it off and on again? (Sorry, IT Crowd was on last night) but seriously, when you plugged the router into the cable modem, you power cycled the modem and then the router, right? I've noticed that some cable or dsl modems get hung up on one MAC address until they're reset so moving the cable from one device to another without power cycling can be a problem. If you already did that, try going into the web interface for your router and look for a button to "release and renew" your external IP address or "WAN" Ip address. XFinity probably assigns a static IP to your modem's MAC address that may be managed via a dhcp server.
I humbly admit, you nailed the problem(Jon_R your info was also very helpful). I had done pretty much everything everyone said (power cycling, etc..). I had went through the settings numerous times (I've had this router quite a while, and pretty much know it inside/out on how it works), and basically it was all the same as from my old residence (with the exception of the new IP address it was getting from the cable modem)

So I started looking at settings that I don't normally need to check, and what you said bout the MAC address made me think I should check that. Wouldn't you know it, the "default" MAC address for the router was wrong by 1 number (last number was :28 instead of :29). I'm not sure why this was, as that address has always "just worked" in the past, and I only knew it was wrong because I checked the MAC address on the bottom of the router. I chose to set the address manually, saved, powered down the modem and router. Powered up the modem, let it finish, powered up the router... and now I'm on my wireless network.

Thanks everyone for the assistance.
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"

Last edited by IndyGunFreak; 10-13-2012 at 18:07..
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 20:24.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,507
414 Members
1,093 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31