Just sharing this with my Texas peeps, but others may be interested.
Virginia is apparently a great place. They allow 1 hour online CHL courses, no proficiency exam, to non-residents. After that, it's just sending in the form with the rest of the required documentation and fee and 45 days later, voila!
Texas and Virginia have reciprocation agreement, and this legally authorizes Texas residents to bypass the 10 hour mandated course with proficiency exam.
Other states may also have this agreement, so YMMV.
Personally, I am pro-proficiency, it doesn't expect serious training, but does expect you to know which end the bullet comes out of.
As well, those courses do not teach Texas laws, Ch 9, Ch 46, and that lack of knowledge can get a person in deep trouble.
However, those 10 hours are long and boring and since its legal, regardless of my opinion, I felt it should be shared.