Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 09-30-2012, 07:40   #1
SoonerDad

A possible way around the 'No Weapons' policy?

Hey y'all...

Still new to the board but I have a question for all of you 'concealed carry' experts...

I'll have my CCW next month (I live in Oklahoma) but I was disappointed to read in my employee handbook that there's a 'no weapons' policy. Terminated on the spot if caught. Seemed like pretty generic wording, kind of a blanket policy. Ok, I'm cool with that...

But the policy also states 'with the exception of law enforcement or security' personnel.

I work at a medium-sized medical clinic (I'm a physician assistant, one of the medical providers) and I do have concerns about all the pain medication we prescribe, with the very real threat of a disgruntled patient showing up and wreaking havoc. See see a large volume of patients and do quite a bit of pain management.

We do not have security guards.

The place is owned by a doctor, and his wife helps to run it. They love me and trust me implicitly. The wife is open to the idea of someone carrying on the premises.

So I was thinking, once I get my CCW license, would there be a problem with placing a copy of it in my employee file, and adding a designation to my job title, (like, 1. Physician assistant. 2. Security guard) That way, I can conceal carry on the job, be ready to help in a dire emergency, and they don't have to change the employee handbook or anything since I'm designated security? Anything wrong with that?

It is a little easier since it's still a "Mom and Pop" place...

I have even toyed with the idea of getting an "Armed Security Guard" license... Would take 2 weeks and cost me about $300, but that might help with the liability issue, if I have additional training and licensure. Plus 'licensed security guards' are on the list to qualify for an LEO Glock discount... Hmmm...