Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 09-28-2012, 10:30   #1
rockapede

Trijicon TR24 for a patrol rifle?

I'll keep it short and sweet. I'm a cop. I'm currently running fixed irons on my patrol rifle. I'd like to add a quality optic. I'm not a door kicker with any regularity, but I work for a smaller, rural municipality that does not have a dedicated swat team so CQB ability is of some importance. However, being rural, it would not be unheard of for a staging point or position to be over 100 yards away on calls like bank alarms, for example, due to several wooded areas, open fields etc. I know something like a T-1 can be shot accurately outside of those distances, however, target discrimination is a consideration. I'd like quality glass but $1k is probably my limit (no S&B, etc).

I'm considering a TR24, probably green triangle, as I'm not sure holdover ability beyond 300 yards is important in my position. The TR24's reputation for good daylight illumination is a large part of its appeal. My basic question for those that own this optic or other 1-4x optics is how much am I giving up to an Aimpoint inside say 25 yards? I know it will be some, but is it worth it?

-Edward Conlon

Last edited by rockapede; 09-28-2012 at 12:10..
rockapede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:42   #2
m2hmghb

You can run a magnifier with the aimpoint, or there are mounts that allow you to mount an aimpoint above the scope. In addition you could also try offset sights. Whatever you choose good luck and be safe.

The M1 Garand rifle is the best battle implement ever devised by man.
m2hmghb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:00   #3
rockapede

Quote:
Originally Posted by m2hmghb View Post