Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 09-26-2012, 12:09   #1
MississipVol

New to AR's - Need Optic Help

Help me make my next purchase PLEASE!!! :-)

I am new to AR's and working on shooting with my iron sights but also trying to decide on my 1st optic for my brand new Colt LE6920-MP.

I have narrowed it down to 2 completely different "scopes":

The Vortex Strikefire Red/Green Dot

Pros - Only costs $170 which includes the mount and a 2X magnifier so I could get before Christmas. Great reviews on Amazon and talked to several people that have one and they all like it and don't regret the purchase. Would probably work for most purposes.

Cons - I don't have the greatest eyesight and MAY want to use my AR for deer hunting so is a 1X red dot enough??

The Burris MTAC 1-4X24 with illuminated ballistic CQ reticle

Pros - True 1X and up to 4X so I could get a better view of targets and would come in very handy if I wanted to stretch my target distance (or use to deer hunt). Clear glass. Has great eye relief for a scope and an illuminated ballistic reticle that is easy to pick up.

Cons - costs $399 and would probably get a Burris PEPR mount thats another $100 - so at $500 I would probably have to wait until after Christmas at least to purchase. The Burris is also longer than I wanted on my AR at 11.3" and would prevent use of my back folding sight.

So should I go ahead and get the Vortex strikefire and only get a scope later down the road if I think I need it? (Could possible use the vortex elsewhere).

OR - Should I continue saving and get the Burris MTAC knowing it would be all I would ever need?

Some of you experienced guys - please help me with your advice! Thanks!!!
MississipVol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:28   #2
bmoore