Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 09-01-2012, 08:57   #1
Gpruitt54

Inconsistant powder drop - Lee Auto Disk

Did my firstreloads last night (30 rounds). Loading 165grain .40 S&W. However, I cannotget a consistent powder drop. I am using Hodgdon HP-38 powder. Like I said,this was my first reloads. HP-38 is the only powder I have. HP-38 is alsoclearly listed in my Lee reloading manual.

I am following the manual it is recommended to use the .43 disk opening. Butthat through way too much power. All the loads with the .43 were near, or overthe recommended max load. So, I changed to the .40 disk opening. But it is droppingjust below the starting powder load.

WTF! I don't want to load powder my hand. And I cannot change to a totallydifferent brand of equipment. I am just starting out.

What can I do to get a consistent powder charge with the above gear???
Should I fire the 30 rounds I already made???

Last edited by Gpruitt54; 09-01-2012 at 09:20..
Gpruitt54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 09:12   #2
ColoCG

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gpruitt54 View Post
Did my first reloads last night (30 rounds). Loading 165grain .40 S&W. However, I cannot get a consistant powder drop. I am using Hodgdon HP-38 powder. Like I said, this was my first reloads. HP-38 is the only powder I have. HP-38 is also clearly listed in my Lee reloading manual.

I am following the manual it is recomended to use the .43 disk opening. But that through way too much power. All the loads with the .43 were near, or over the recomended max load. So, I changed to the .40 disk opening. But is throughing just below the starting powder load.

WTF! I don't want to load powder my hand. And I cannot change to a totally different brand of equipment. I am just starting out.

What can I do to get a consistant powder charge with the above gear???
Should I fire the 30 rounds I already made???

HELP!