Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-14-2012, 08:28   #1
GlockMonk

Hornady Lock n Load AP.

Hi folks, I've been reloading pistol cartridges with my Dillon SDBs for a few years now, and I'm ready to step up to reloading the 223, due to shortages, and ever increasing prices.

I'm currently looking at Hornady Lock n Load AP, as I want an auto indexing press. I've thought about the Dillon 650, but I kept hearing the caliber/primer changes are a pain.

The LnL AP supposedly had some priming issues a while back, but does anyone know, if Hornady has fixed those issues? Please share your thoughts on this one, thanks.

GlockMonk
GlockMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:18   #2
glock30sfuser

Dillon 650 FTMFW. I speak from owning both
glock30sfuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:26   #3
GlockMonk

Quote:
Originally Posted by glock30sfuser View Post
Dillon 650 FTMFW. I speak from owning both
Thanks, that's what I keep hearing as well. So, it's not that big of a deal to change caliber/primer setup? I could go either way, price is not an issue.

GlockMonk
Old 04-14-2012, 11:35   #4
alitke15

I run a Hornady LnL AP and have no issues with primers. The only thing you have to watch for is trash that might get stuck in the priming system. You will know right away as you feel a huge amount of force and the unit will not allow you to upstroke. I had this happen twice but once I cleared the debris it was fine.
alitke15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:03   #5
ron59
Bustin Caps

I have a 650... haven't changed calibers yet, but don't see that it would be "a pain". Toolhead swaps out easily enough. I have had the primer system apart (very simple) so just swapping out the large/small primer parts are easy. Which just leads the few casefeeder parts.