Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 03-07-2012, 01:34   #1
rick458
USS Texas BB-35

Bible translations

What is your favorite translation?
and
Which do you consider the Most accurate/faithful?

I have read NIV, and New KJV, but I find that the original
King James Version seem to speak to me the best, the other two translations seem TOO soft, too watered down.

Bearing fully in mind that I do not speak or read Hebrew, Aramaec, or Latin, so I have to take what translations I have read on faith and with discernment.
Old 03-07-2012, 06:32   #2
FCoulter

http://originalbiblerestored.com/
FCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:46   #3
Brucev

Once upon a time I went to seminary. There I majored in Biblical Languages... i.e., Hebrew and Greek. There I developed a very healthy appreciation of the fine English translations that are now so commonly available. For the Old Testament, I very much prefer the Revised Standard Version. For the New Testament, I very much prefer the New American Standard. They are about the best. Further, in Greek word order is important. The NASV is sufficiently close that one can use it for a "pony" when translating. As to "faithful and accurate," I prize literal translation. But, no translation is made absent the mind of the translator. I use the RSV and NASV as basic study tools. I use other sources to help me grasp the text in its context. For devotional reading I consider The Message by Eugene Peterson to be very useful.
Brucev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 11:08   #4
Roering
Sorting nuts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick458 View Post
What is your favorite translation?
and
Which do you consider the Most accurate/faithful?

I have read NIV, and New KJV, but I find that the original
King James Version seem to speak to me the best, the other two translations seem TOO soft, too watered down.