SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 02-17-2012, 17:04   #1
Chris Brines

Newbie with Question about Glock 23 issue

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to this forum, fairly new to Glocks and fairly new to shooting. I am learning alot and enjoy it more and more every day.

To cut to the chase, I have a Glock 23 that I think is an amazing and extremely impressive gun. In my opinion, it is the perfect gun (for me).

There is just one thing I can not get out of my mind and that is the stories I've read numerous times about them "kabooming" when shooting reloads.

I am no expert, I am new to shooting and know very little about reloading. I have been explained the process several times, but never actually seen it done. I have also been explained several times the reasons these Glock .40SW barrels are subject to kaboom when shooting reloads. I can't honestly say I fully understand it but I know it has something to do with the amount of pressure released when the bullet detonates.

I have read something about the barrel being "unsupported", not sure exactly what that means either.

What I do know is that I love this gun and do not want to trade it or sell it to get another brand of .40SW, but at the same time, safety comes first and although I don't reload now, I plan to start in the future. I want to be able to reload ammo for all of my guns without worrying that my safety or that of my family/friends may be compromised.

I have been reassured that this is very rare and that I really have nothing to worry about. I still don't feel all that comfortable with the frequency of these occurences, and that if I dig through shooting forums, I can find dozens of stories like this.

I would really like to switch my barrel out, and I am asking if anyone knows of any after market barrels for the Glock 23 Gen 3 that would decrease this risk.