Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 11-30-2010, 17:02   #1
cowboy1964

M&P 15 OR (Optics Ready) newbie - need sights

So I took the plunge and picked up an M&P 15 OR on a good deal. Of course this model comes with no sights at all, it has a railed gas block. I'll add a red dot at some point but for now I just want some basic fixed or flip-up sights. I'd rather not invest a whole lot until I get some experience under my belt. Can I get front and rear sights for around $100 or less? I was looking at the Magpul sights but they recommend not installing the front on a gas block. Or should I just spend the $200+ and get Troy?

I know this is pretty basic stuff for you seasoned ARers but I'm new to all this. ARs are almost too configurable. You can go crazy thinking about all the options.
cowboy1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 17:17   #2
raven11

I was in your spot a couple of months ago , i just forked over the money for Troy, then went a little overboard
Black Rifle Forum

Black Rifle Forum

if you want to save a bit of money Primary Arms is selling a Yankee Hill pair of metal sights for $139.99
Old 11-30-2010, 17:23   #3
BuffaloXJ

I have the same rifle, and originally just bought some MagPul BUPS, after talking with someone at MagPul they suggested I get the MagPul handguard with a bolt on rail for the front sight to mount to since I can't mount to the gas block. I later found out that I can't mount the MagPul front sight to a handguard because it's not a free float. I am now looking into buying a set of Troy BUIS, wishing I hadn't wasted the money on my MagPul BUPS.

You could always get the Troy front sight (M4 or HK style) and then use the MagPul rear. That would come in around $140 (ar-15tactical.com has the Troy front for $83.90, and MagPul rear for $45.55 and shipping is around $7, grand total: ~$138).