GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2014, 05:14   #1
BENCH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Shreveport, La.
Posts: 132
Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph CEI3800...

I needed one and the price and reviews were pretty good.

Wanted Oehler 35, but with a daughter in pharmacy school, I just couldn't turn loose of the extra money right now.

I'll probably just end up accidentally shooting it anyways
BENCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 07:37   #2
Three-Five-Seven
Señor Mombo
 
Three-Five-Seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Tucson
Posts: 3,290
Have had some buddies purchase this one. Doesn't always work in morning light. I have a Chrony chronograph and it has never failed me.
__________________
That I could be wrong is an eventuality that has not escaped me. I just painted the pictures as I saw them. I do not know how to do anything else. (Saint Elmer, 1955)
Three-Five-Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 08:47   #3
jmorris
Senior Member
 
jmorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 934
I have a couple but always seem to have the small and cheap shooting chrony around when I need it.
jmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 09:17   #4
Boxerglocker
Jacks #1 Fan
 
Boxerglocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 5,982
Nothing wrong with the Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph CEI3800. I’ve shot mine end to end with a Oehler 35, the difference is negligible.

ProChrono works great easy to use, very reliable, the indoor lighting kit works well. I just got the parts to build my own computer serial cable this weekend.
__________________
Glock 3rd Gen G19/G34, 4th Gen G17 FDE, G26,
Dillon
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
BLUE Kool-aid drinking team member
Boxerglocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 09:53   #5
WeeWilly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: PRK
Posts: 1,476
I have a few different chronographs, I use my CE Digital ProChrono most. It works great.
WeeWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 10:10   #6
fredj338
Senior Member
 
fredj338's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: so.cal.
Posts: 21,618
Blog Entries: 3
It's a solid chrono, better than the Chrony line, but I still hate shooting at the box. The Oehler, just a $15 screen if you hit anything, my choice, but they were only $200 when I bought mine. Today, I like the CED, good unit w/ just screens to shoot thru & the box on your bench for easy data collection. You'll wonder how you ever reloaded w/o one.
__________________
"Given adequate penetration, a larger diameter bullet will have an edge in wounding effectiveness. It will damage a blood vessel the smaller projectile barely misses. The larger permanent cavity may lead to faster blood loss. Although such an edge clearly exists, its significance cannot be quantified".

Last edited by fredj338; 02-17-2014 at 13:52..
fredj338 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 10:23   #7
Brian Lee
Drop those nuts
 
Brian Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Up a tree.
Posts: 7,689
I have a Pro Chrono Digital and I've shot it twice. Second time i had to take it apart and glue some plastic back together, but it still works.
Brian Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 16:10   #8
BENCH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Shreveport, La.
Posts: 132
Thanks for the help guys.

Will be a couple of weeks before I will be able to use it, and I'll let you know what I think about it.

Bench
BENCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 16:17   #9
Zombie Steve
Decap Pin Killa
 
Zombie Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Old Colorado City
Posts: 19,935
I have a Pro Chrono. Only gripe is that the remote is as much as the chrono.
Zombie Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 19:41   #10
BENCH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Shreveport, La.
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombie Steve View Post
I have a Pro Chrono. Only gripe is that the remote is as much as the chrono.
i didn't even know it was an option.
BENCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 23:16   #11
Taterhead
Counting Beans
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,941
Good chrony. The better news is that if you do end up shooting it, they'll fix it or replace it pretty inexpensively. Very prompt customer service.

You won't shoot it if you 1) put a target behind the chrony so that you have a fine point to aim, and 2) remember the bore and scope height relationship if shooting rifle.

I shot my diffuser rods after my buddy asked about the previous velocity right as I was letting one go. My eyes went down to the chrony, and so did my aim. Shook it all apart. I re-assembled and it worked ok for a while, but eventually sent it back.
Taterhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 09:15   #12
Boxerglocker
Jacks #1 Fan
 
Boxerglocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 5,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombie Steve View Post
I have a Pro Chrono. Only gripe is that the remote is as much as the chrono.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BENCH View Post
i didn't even know it was an option.
I made a serial cable for $11 and downloaded the software for free. I didn't really need it but it will make it easier having my laptop on the bench when I develop rifle loads this spring.
__________________
Glock 3rd Gen G19/G34, 4th Gen G17 FDE, G26,
Dillon
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
BLUE Kool-aid drinking team member
Boxerglocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 23:43   #13
EL_NinO619
EX-Swage Monkey
 
EL_NinO619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombie Steve View Post
I have a Pro Chrono. Only gripe is that the remote is as much as the chrono.

Yep I have the cable and software. Had a gift card I needed to use. Like Boxer said, I like seeing the display and statistics on bench. I also like being able to change strings and not have to wait for a seize fire Best $130 I have spent in awhile
__________________
se carga el diablo de la pistola...
25acp,.223,25-20win,.308, 8mm M, 7mm Rem Mag, 9mm,.40,10mm .45acp, .475 Wildey Mag
On 2 Hornady LNL's And a Super 1050

As Reloaders we should adapt the load to the gun, not the gun to the load.
EL_NinO619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 09:07   #14
Beanie-Bean
Senior Member
 
Beanie-Bean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 4,051
I have one of those, bench--do yourself a favor and get some 3/16" wooden dowels, and cut them to length like the steel rods it ships with.

Don't ask how I know about that
__________________
NRA Life Member
Ammo by Dillon and Hornady

Beanie-Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 10:13   #15
BENCH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Shreveport, La.
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxerglocker View Post
I made a serial cable for $11 and downloaded the software for free. I didn't really need it but it will make it easier having my laptop on the bench when I develop rifle loads this spring.
Would my IPad work in place of a laptop?
BENCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 10:14   #16
BENCH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Shreveport, La.
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanie-Bean View Post
I have one of those, bench--do yourself a favor and get some 3/16" wooden dowels, and cut them to length like the steel rods it ships with.

Don't ask how I know about that
Ok, I won't ask, and will do that.
BENCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 10:24   #17
Boxerglocker
Jacks #1 Fan
 
Boxerglocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 5,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by BENCH View Post
Would my IPad work in place of a laptop?
NOPE, Windows 7 or 8.
__________________
Glock 3rd Gen G19/G34, 4th Gen G17 FDE, G26,
Dillon
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
BLUE Kool-aid drinking team member
Boxerglocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 01:07   #18
EL_NinO619
EX-Swage Monkey
 
EL_NinO619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,624
http://mylabradar.com/
__________________
se carga el diablo de la pistola...
25acp,.223,25-20win,.308, 8mm M, 7mm Rem Mag, 9mm,.40,10mm .45acp, .475 Wildey Mag
On 2 Hornady LNL's And a Super 1050

As Reloaders we should adapt the load to the gun, not the gun to the load.
EL_NinO619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 19:58   #19
Boxerglocker
Jacks #1 Fan
 
Boxerglocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 5,982
Got my serial cable built today and the software downloaded works good. Ready for some load development once the weather dries out.


Used my sons MEGA Nerf gun to test. The laptop is running Windows 7.
BTW I'm using the CE IR indoor light kit for testing, as you can see it works well. I've even used it at dusk outdoors and it doesn't miss a shot.
__________________
Glock 3rd Gen G19/G34, 4th Gen G17 FDE, G26,
Dillon
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
BLUE Kool-aid drinking team member

Last edited by Boxerglocker; 02-24-2014 at 20:06..
Boxerglocker is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,086
309 Members
777 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42