Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 19:52   #1
wrenrj1
Senior Member
 
wrenrj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huskerville
Posts: 10,339
New Modem Issues

My TWC modem crapped out so I bought a new Motorola modem (so I won't have a monthly fee for a modem). I worked with TWC to get the modem set up and obviously the modem works.

My home page, which is Yahoo comes up as: "Sorry, the page you requested was not found." I have another bookmark link to my Yahoo mail that works. Additionally, I have an AOL email account that just doesn't load (the AOL website). All of my other bookmarks seem to work.

Our Apple laptop works and displays AOL and Yahoo, yet the IMac which is the "hub" of all of this doesn't.

Any Ideas?
__________________
We are told by our government NOT to judge Muslims by the actions of a few crazies. We are also told by this same government TO judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few crazies.
wrenrj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 21:43   #2
bobby_w
Platinum Membership
Alienigena
 
bobby_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South of Houston
Posts: 2,348
Which Motorola is it ?

Have you checked the Motorola support site to see if the Firmware is current/updated ?

Cable Modems

DSL Modems
bobby_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 09:32   #3
wrenrj1
Senior Member
 
wrenrj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huskerville
Posts: 10,339
Motorola SB6141 Surfboard. I went thru FAQ's and didn't find anything regarding specific websites that don't work. AOL and Yahoo (my two email sources) are the only two. At least Yahoo gives me a page not found, AOL doesn't even open.
__________________
We are told by our government NOT to judge Muslims by the actions of a few crazies. We are also told by this same government TO judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few crazies.
wrenrj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 12:11   #4
wcarter4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 13
The problem may be on Yahoo's side. They just completely revamped their website a few days ago. It could be that their upgrades have caused it to not display correctly on your rig. Or it could be the link you have in your homepage settings list is dead now.
If you can use other websites just fine, my money is on the problems being due to Yahoo's changes rather than any specific problems with the modem.
wcarter4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 18:33   #5
GlockFanWA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 639
What is the address in the URL of your browser?
GlockFanWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 19:25   #6
wrenrj1
Senior Member
 
wrenrj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huskerville
Posts: 10,339
I figured it out. I went into Safari and reset Safari which removes everything, preferences, history, saved passwords etc. At least it kept my bookmarks. All the websites were then able to be accessed. The PITA was going back and having to remember passwords etc. to log back on to sites I was automatically logged on to.

Thanks for the suggestions everyone.
__________________
We are told by our government NOT to judge Muslims by the actions of a few crazies. We are also told by this same government TO judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few crazies.
wrenrj1 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 565
144 Members
421 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31