GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2013, 07:29   #61
F106 Fan
Senior Member
 
F106 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,761
Those of us with an even shorter attention span leave the powder measure on the toolhead. So, a multiplicity of powder measures.

The overspending can be expanded to include the powder check die if cost really isn't an issue.

Then, of course, we don't use just the standard powder measure adjustment screw, we add the UniqueTek micrometer adjuster.

I draw the line at the powder measure alarm. I only have one of those.

This reloading thing can get kind of pricey with a little imagination.

Richard
__________________
"No matter how cynical you become, it's never enough to keep up." - Lily Tomlin
F106 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:07   #62
Colorado4Wheel
Senior Member
 
Colorado4Wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 14,281
Don't buy three powder measures. That can wait and there are other cheaper options.
__________________
Steve
Colorado4Wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:09   #63
Glock 1
Senior Member
 
Glock 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,864
lol. I got the powder check die but I won't use it in the beginning. I was wondering about the powder measure. I think once I am comfortable with this machine and its workings I might move to make things a little easier with the multiple powder measure but I want to get used to this before I get more advanced. As it is I will be going very slow in the beginning to brush up on my knowledge and prevent mistakes. I am still doing alot of reading and will stick to safe loads until I have gotten back into the swing of things.
__________________
Robert Bailey
Owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Glock 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:45   #64
Colorado4Wheel
Senior Member
 
Colorado4Wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 14,281
That is a good plan. Don't use the case feeder at the start. Instead manual drop one case every 5 pulls of the handle. After your sure its perfect reset the OAL with a full shell plate.
Instead of multiple powder measures you can get a a micrometer, a dial or multiple powder bars.
__________________
Steve
Colorado4Wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:16   #65
F106 Fan
Senior Member
 
F106 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,761
Loading just one case at a time in the drop tube is an easy way to concentrate on just one thing at a time.

However, this approach will also have a bunch of new but unused primers skiing down the ramp. It would pay to have a better scheme for catching them. Maybe build up the side walls with cardboard. This is easier to see when you have the press in front of you.

The thing about the 650 is that it presents a primer on every handle pull. If the primer isn't seated into a case, it rotates to the drop chute on the next handle pull.

Richard
__________________
"No matter how cynical you become, it's never enough to keep up." - Lily Tomlin

Last edited by F106 Fan; 02-13-2013 at 09:17..
F106 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:22   #66
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,101
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by F106 Fan View Post
Loading just one case at a time in the drop tube is an easy way to concentrate on just one thing at a time.

However, this approach will also have a bunch of new but unused primers skiing down the ramp. It would pay to have a better scheme for catching them. Maybe build up the side walls with cardboard. This is easier to see when you have the press in front of you.
Just remove the part that indexes the primer disk (I think it's called the primer cam). Takes 3sec to put on/remove. In order to index the primer disk without the cam, just index it with your thumb. When you're ready to go full throttle, just put the cam back on.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:23   #67
Glock 1
Senior Member
 
Glock 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,864
That is my plan. Kill the automated stuff and load individual rounds into batches of 25 (labeled of course) to take to the range to see what works best in my guns. Keep targets and track performance of the individual loads.

My dad loaded some lead cast SWC with a powder (he said it was Bullseye) that was so smokey and nasty smelling I was getting FTF after only 50 rounds in a clean G21SF and the smoke was unbelievable! The inside of the gun was black with soot. I have never had that happen with Bullseye. Add to that we were ar an indoor range with bad ventilation and lots of shooters and it was not a very fun experience. Not to mention the looks I got from other shooters. He hated the rounds so much he took them all apart and reloaded them. He had a thousand of them. I would like to avoid that.
__________________
Robert Bailey
Owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Last edited by Glock 1; 02-13-2013 at 09:26..
Glock 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:27   #68
F106 Fan
Senior Member
 
F106 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,761
For the 650, the magic number is 6.

It takes six manual steps of the primer mechanism to get a primer in the proper place for the first case coming down the drop tube.

You will see a little metallic lever that is part of the ratchet system. Cycle it 6 times to set up the first primer. Then load cases in the drop tube (manually or with the case feeder).

Richard
__________________
"No matter how cynical you become, it's never enough to keep up." - Lily Tomlin
F106 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:34   #69
F106 Fan
Senior Member
 
F106 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak View Post
Just remove the part that indexes the primer disk (I think it's called the primer cam). Takes 3sec to put on/remove. In order to index the primer disk without the cam, just index it with your thumb. When you're ready to go full throttle, just put the cam back on.

IGF
Here's a fellow who made a special little washer that holds the mechanism in a released state so the ratchet doesn't work.


Another thing: You can use a .38 SPL case to hold the case feeder mechanism in a disabled position.


Richard
__________________
"No matter how cynical you become, it's never enough to keep up." - Lily Tomlin
F106 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:37   #70
Glock 1
Senior Member
 
Glock 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,864
Can't wait to get it and get it setup. Its ashamed I just started my wait. lol
__________________
Robert Bailey
Owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Glock 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:41   #71
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,101
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


By the way, for another manual.. I love the "Loadbooks". They are typically dedicated to 1 caliber, and have data compiled from numerous sources, and have a wide variety of powders, bullet profiles, etc. They run about $7 each on Midway(but of course they are out of stock at the moment). I have one for all the calibers I load and like them.

http://www.loadbooks.com/untitled.html

I typically use my Lyman and a Loadbook to check my data. You can also see this site, which is again a compilation of data from powder companies (use caution though, as this site can also allow users to post data... but it's clear when data is listed on a powder manufacturers website and what is user submitted.)

http://handloads.org/loaddata/default.asp
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"

Last edited by IndyGunFreak; 02-13-2013 at 09:53..
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:02   #72
Colorado4Wheel
Senior Member
 
Colorado4Wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 14,281
Easist way to disable the casefeeder is simply to drill a small hole in the tube, stick a paperclip through it. Viola. No more cases will fall. You will have about two cases left. Manually cycle the case shuttle if you like. Drill the hole at the right level for the cases you use the most.
__________________
Steve
Colorado4Wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:58   #73
F106 Fan
Senior Member
 
F106 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glock 1 View Post
Can't wait to get it and get it setup. Its ashamed I just started my wait. lol
It's going to be worth it! The 650 is a magnificent press. It's easy to set up, caliber changes are straightforward and it's FAST.

Richard
__________________
"No matter how cynical you become, it's never enough to keep up." - Lily Tomlin
F106 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:44   #74
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,101
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by F106 Fan View Post
It's going to be worth it! The 650 is a magnificent press. It's easy to set up, caliber changes are straightforward and it's FAST.

Richard
Totally agree.. If ever I've had regrets in the past about a $1500 purchase... the 650 is definitely not it.
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 12:58   #75
Colorado4Wheel
Senior Member
 
Colorado4Wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 14,281
I loved my 550 for the longest time. The 650 is a step up from that. I need to stop looking at 1050's. They are even nicer. But for me, I can't use a bullet feeder because I shoot lead and my lead bullets are not "clean enough" from the lubing machine to ever expect them to work with a bullet feeder. So with out a bullet feeder I am personally convinced that a 1050 is no faster then a 650. For the life of me I can never seat the bullet before I am done pushing to prime. I am always done pushing to prime and I am still seating the bullet. I know the 1050 is nicer but it just wasn't worth the extra $600. 650 is darn near the perfect press.
__________________
Steve
Colorado4Wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 13:11   #76
Glock 1
Senior Member
 
Glock 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,864
Glad to hear all the good reviews. I called Dillon and added the tool heads and powder dies to the order. I amended my list above as well.
__________________
Robert Bailey
Owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Glock 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 19:21   #77
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,101
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glock 1 View Post
Glad to hear all the good reviews. I called Dillon and added the tool heads and powder dies to the order. I amended my list above as well.
You should've ordered from BrianEnos.com... you'd have gotten free shipping. Thought that was mentioned earlier in the thread.

Prices are exactly the same... just free shipping on orders over $400
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"

Last edited by IndyGunFreak; 02-13-2013 at 19:22..
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 19:29   #78
fredj338
Senior Member
 
fredj338's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: so.cal.
Posts: 21,610
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colorado4Wheel View Post
Easist way to disable the casefeeder is simply to drill a small hole in the tube, stick a paperclip through it. Viola. No more cases will fall. You will have about two cases left. Manually cycle the case shuttle if you like. Drill the hole at the right level for the cases you use the most.
Did I miss something? Why do you need to do anything to the 650 case feeder to disble it, just turn it off?
Extra powder measures, I just don't see the point for pistol loading. I do have an extra measure for rifle, because it needs a larger charge bar, but you have to check the powder charge anyway, so having one measure is no big deal for me.
__________________
"Given adequate penetration, a larger diameter bullet will have an edge in wounding effectiveness. It will damage a blood vessel the smaller projectile barely misses. The larger permanent cavity may lead to faster blood loss. Although such an edge clearly exists, its significance cannot be quantified".

Last edited by fredj338; 02-13-2013 at 19:31..
fredj338 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 19:46   #79
F106 Fan
Senior Member
 
F106 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredj338 View Post
Did I miss something? Why do you need to do anything to the 650 case feeder to disble it, just turn it off?
That still leaves a bunch of cases in the feed tube. If the goal is to clear the press, using the .38 case is a nice way to go. No messing around with the feed tube.

Perhaps it seems important to feed one case at a time for a few minutes without having to empty out the tube.

Richard
__________________
"No matter how cynical you become, it's never enough to keep up." - Lily Tomlin
F106 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:01   #80
Glock 1
Senior Member
 
Glock 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak View Post
You should've ordered from BrianEnos.com... you'd have gotten free shipping. Thought that was mentioned earlier in the thread.

Prices are exactly the same... just free shipping on orders over $400
I was going to but being an FFL and having a business has its advantages as well.
__________________
Robert Bailey
Owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Glock 1 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 716
153 Members
563 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42