GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2008, 16:37   #1
Bosko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pilot Mountain, NC
Posts: 42
Obtaining A North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit

Guilford County (Greensboro):

1. Complete the Carry Concealed - Handgun Course that is required by the
State of North Carolina.

2. Appointment Days are Monday, Wednesday & Friday between the hours of
8:30 - 11:30 AM and 2:00 - 3:30 PM. Please allow 30 minutes to complete
the paperwork.

3. If approved, you will be notified by phone when your permit is ready for
pick-up. Please allow 90 days for processing time.

4. You must be a resident of Guilford County.

Please have the following information available to expedite the application process:

Original Firearms safety Training Course certificate.
$90.00 cash or certified check or money order
Valid NC Driver License with current address
Copy of DD 214 (military discharge papers)
Copy of Birth Certificate
Name, Address & phone number of closest relative outside household
Name, Address & phone number of family physician
Copy of US Passport or citizenship papers if born outside the US

To set up an APPOINTMENT, please call 336-641-6356

Note: I have been informed that the appointment schedule is full through
May 2008.


Forsyth County (Winston-Salem):

1. Applicant must provide a VALID (all information must be current and
correct) North Carolina Driver License or North Carolina ID Card. The
address on the Driver License or ID Card must be the address of their
residence.

2. Must be a United States citizen.

3. Must be a resident of North Carolina for not less than 30 days prior to the
date of the application.

4. Must be at least 21 years of age.

5. Must not suffer from any physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe
handling of a handgun.

6. Complete the Carry Concealed - Handgun Course that is required by the
State of North Carolina and provide the original certificate with the
application.

7. If discharged by the military, provide a copy of DD-214 which indicates an
Honorable Discharge.

8. Provide a list of all previous addresses, including place of birth.

9. Sign, under oath, authorization Waivers to mental health institutions for
background checks.

10. Pay a non-refundable fee of $95.00 (cash only) at the time the
application is taken.

11. Allow for a waiting period of up to 90 days for application processing.

12. Provide other documentation as needed, i.e. Birth Certificate, court
dispositions, proof of citizenship, etc.

13. Do not telephone the Sheriff's Office for an appointment. Appear in person
Monday through Friday from 9:00 - 10:30 AM or from 1:00 - 3:30 PM.

Note: As I obtain information from other counties adjacent to the Winston-Salem area, I will post it.
Bosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 23:27   #2
davis513
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 96
Mecklenburg County:


Concealed Handgun Permit Requirements

Applicant must:

* be twenty-one (21) years of age;
* be a resident of Mecklenburg County and a resident of North Carolina for thirty (30) days;
* be a citizen or naturalized citizen of the United States of America;
* not suffer from any mental or physical infirmity which would prevent safe handgun handling and operation;
* provide a valid N.C. driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the state of North Carolina;
* successfully complete a firearms training and safety course that has been designed by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Commission (See Yellow Pages or a firearms dealer for businesses that provide training).

A criminal background check that takes about 90 days must be performed before granting of permit.

Applicant must make an appointment to apply for permit.

Applicant must apply in person and have a verifiable training certificate and a valid picture ID in hand (NC driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the state of North Carolina).

A Concealed Weapon Permit requires a $90.00 non-refundable fee (which includes a $10.00 fingerprint fee) payable by cash, money order or certified check. If paying with cash, please bring exact amount since we have very little cash on hand. Personal checks are not accepted.

Renewing of Concealed Handgun Permits

If a permit expires, an individual may not carry his or her weapon concealed until a new application has been approved and issued.

The renewal process will be similar to the original application except the Sheriff has waived the necessity for existing permit holders to re-take the firearms safety course. However, if a permit holder allows a permit to expire, he or she will be treated as a new applicant and will be required to take the firearms safety class again.

Renewal applicants must apply in person by calling the Sheriff's Office Gun Permits Bureau at 704-336-3664 to schedule an appointment. Appointments will be available Monday to Thursday from 8 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and on Fridays from 8 to 11:00 a.m.

At the appointment, applicants will fill out a concealed handgun renewal form, sign a notarized affidavit stating they remain qualified under the concealed handgun law, have a new set of fingerprints taken, sign mental health release forms and pay a non-refundable renewal fee of $85 — payable only in cash, money order or certified check. Personal checks are not accepted.

An applicant also must bring to the appointment a valid picture ID (NC driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the state of North Carolina).

The Sheriff's Office Permit Bureau is located at 715 E. 4th St., behind the historic Courthouse and across the street from the Criminal Courthouse at 720 E 4th St.

Once issued, the permit is valid throughout the state for a period of five years, unless it is revoked.
__________________
davis513
Carolina Glockers #513
davis513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 00:18   #3
NC Bullseye
Senior Member
 
NC Bullseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Foothills
Posts: 966
This may help what you're looking for. The following is state mandated requirements for obtaining a NC CHP. Any additions are that of the local sheriff and you could then just list the additional requirements of each county.

Per the North Carolina Justice Academy


6. Obtaining the concealed carry permit
In order to obtain a permit the citizen must apply to the Sheriff’s
Office within their county of residence. The Sheriff shall issue a
permit to an applicant if the applicant qualifies under the following
criteria according to North Carolina General Statute 14-415.12

a) The applicant is a citizen of the United States and has been a
resident of the State of North Carolina 30 days or longer
immediately preceding the filing of the concealed carry
application. Proof of citizenship should be brought to the
Sheriff’s Office.

b) The applicant is 21 years of age or older.

c) The applicant does not suffer from any mental infirmity that
prevents safe handling of a handgun.

d) The applicant has successfully completed a Concealed Carry
training course that has been approved by the N.C. Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, and
whose instructor is certified by this same Commission as a
Concealed Carry – Handgun Instructor. The applicant must
submit the original certificate issued from the course to the
Sheriff’s Office as part of the application process.

e) The applicant is eligible to own or possess or receive a firearm
under the provisions of State or federal law.

f) The applicant is not under indictment or against whom a
finding of probable cause exist for a felony.

g) The applicant has not been adjudicated guilty of a felony.

h) The applicant is not a fugitive from justice.

i) The applicant is not an unlawful user, or addicted to marijuana,
alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any
other controlled substance as defined in 21 USC § 802.

j) The applicant is not currently or has been previously
adjudicated by a court or administratively determined by a
governmental agency whose decisions are subject to judicial
review to be, lacking mental capacity or mentally ill.
Consultative services or outpatient treatment alone shall not
disqualify an applicant.

k) The applicant has not been discharged from the armed forces
under less than honorable conditions.

l) The applicant has not been adjudicated guilty of or received a
prayer for judgment continued or suspended sentence for one or
more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor under
Article 8 of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General Statutes
or a violation of a any of the following misdemeanors:
14-225.2: Harassment of and communication with jurors.
14-226.1: Violating orders of court.
14-258.1: Furnishing poison, controlled substances, deadly
weapons, cartridges, ammunition or alcoholic
beverages to inmates of charitable, mental or penal
institutions or local confinement facilities.
14-269.2: Weapons on campus or other educational property.
14-269.3: Carrying weapons into assemblies and
establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold
and consumed.
14-269.4: Weapons on State property and in courthouses.
14-269.6: Possession and sale of spring-loaded projectile
knives prohibited.
14-276.1: Impersonation of firemen or emergency medical
services personnel.
14-277: Impersonation of a law-enforcement or other public
officer.
14-277.1: Communicating threats.
14-277.2: Weapons at parades, etc., prohibited.
14-277.3: Stalking.
14-281.1: Throwing, dropping, etc., objects at sporting events.
14-283: Exploding dynamite cartridges and bombs.
14-288.2: Riot, inciting to riot, punishments.
14-288.4(a)(1) or (2) : Disorderly conduct.
14-288.6: Looting; trespass during emergency.
14-288.9: Assault on emergency personnel, punishments.
14-288.12: Powers of municipalities to enact ordinances to deal
with states of emergency.
14-288.13: Powers of counties to enact ordinances to deal with
states of emergencies.
14-288.14: Power of chairman of board of county
commissioners to extend emergency restrictions
imposed in municipality.
14-318.2: Child Abuse a Class 1 misdemeanor.
14-415.21(b) - Carrying a concealed handgun without the
permit in the person’s possession or fails to disclose to a law
enforcement officer that they have a permit and are carrying a
handgun.

m) The applicant does not have a prayer for judgment continued
for a criminal offense which would disqualify the person from
obtaining a concealed handgun permit.

n) The person is not free on bond or personal recognizance
pending trail, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which would
disqualify him/her from obtaining a concealed handgun permit.

o) The applicant has not been convicted of an impaired driving
offense under any of the following General Statutes with the
three years prior to the date on which the application is
submitted:
20-138.1: Impaired driving.
20-138.2: Impaired driving in commercial vehicle.
20-138.3: Driving by person less than 21 years old after
consuming alcohol or drugs.
NC Bullseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 04:51   #4
Bosko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pilot Mountain, NC
Posts: 42
Thanks NC Bullseye - right out of the Red Book and a good place to start. I find that each Sheriff does things just a little bit differently. Forsyth still requires references. Guilford used to, but no longer does according to the info sheet I was given. It was lined out.
Bosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 16:47   #5
Bosko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pilot Mountain, NC
Posts: 42
Stokes County:

Applications taken only on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday between the hours of 8:30 AM and 5:00 PM

Charges:

New Application $90.00
Renewal $85.00

Mental Check $ 5.00

County Background Check $15.00 (Clerk of the Court)

You must complete the Firearms training Course and bring your original certificate to apply.

Copy of your DD-214 Form if you have served in the military;

Names, Addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) references - not related - that live in Stokes County.
Bosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 07:53   #6
Bosko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pilot Mountain, NC
Posts: 42
Surry County:

Walk-in applications accepted (Call Dawn to confirm days and times).

You must complete the Firearms Training Course and bring your original certificate to apply.

$90 cash or check; A $20 fee will be billed to the applicant by a contractor who will conduct the mental health check.

Military veterans must provide a copy of their DD-214; a birth certificate is not required.

Applicant must produce a valid (current address of residence) NC Driver License.

References are not required.

Last edited by Bosko; 03-14-2008 at 07:54.. Reason: Certificate
Bosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 19:15   #7
SR_
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 393
Here's the info for Wake County. [Note, while the offical language makes it sound like you can pick up an application and that it has to be notarized, you actually fill the application out at their office. - Not a big deal. Better yet, it saves you from having to find a notary! No appointment is necassary. From discussions with their office, the busiest days are Monday and Friday. The constraint is that you want to time your visit so you can complete the forms then walk next door for the fingerprints. The fingerprint office closes for lunch - see times below. It would probably be a good idea to call the office to verifiy the current office times.]

http://http://rtpnet.org/~wcso/pistol.html

Requirements for obtaining a Concealed Handgun Permit
Applications are available at the Sheriff's Records Office located on the 2nd floor of the Wake County Public Safety Center, 330 S. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, between the hours of 8:30am and 5:00pm Monday-Friday. Telephone 919-856-6949.

Applications must be typed or printed and notarized.

Fingerprint Hours: 08:30AM-11:00AM & 1:00PM - 4:00PM

Fees are as follows:

Application Fee: $80.00
Renewal Fee: $75.00
Duplicate $15.00
Fees are non-refundable and required by State Law.
Applicant must meet all application requirements

The Applicant must be:

21 years of age or older
a United States citizen
a resident of North Carolina for 30 days preceding the filing of the application.
The applicant must not suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that would prevent the safe handling of a handgun.


At the time of application, the applicant must present:

1.An original certificate of completion from a certified course adopted by the Criminal Justice Education Training Standards Commission. (716-6470)

2. Two full sets of fingerprints administered by the City County Bureau of Identification. (The cost for this service is $10.00. CCBI is located on the 2nd floor of the Public Safety Center. Note: Do not complete any information on the fingerprint card unless instructed to do so by CCBI or Sheriff's Office staff.)

3. Valid photographic identification and proof of residence.
SR_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 06:37   #8
PantherFan
Senior Member
 
PantherFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 247
Duplin County

Requirements for obtaining a Concealed Handgun Permit

Applications are available?
Applications must be typed or printed and notarized.
Fingerprint Hours: 08:30AM-11:00AM & 1:00PM - 4:00PM
Fees are as follows:
  • Application Fee: $80.00
  • Renewal Fee: $75.00
  • Duplicate $15.00
  • Fees are non-refundable and required by State Law.
  • Applicant must meet all application requirements
The Applicant must be:


  • 21 years of age or older
  • a United States citizen
  • a resident of North Carolina for 30 days preceding the filing of the application.
The applicant must not suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that would prevent the safe handling of a handgun.

At the time of application, the applicant must present:

  1. An original certificate of completion from a certified course adopted by the Criminal Justice Education Training Standards Commission. (716-6470)
  2. Two full sets of fingerprints administered by the City County Bureau of Identification. (The cost for this service is $10.00.
  3. Valid photographic identification and proof of residence.
PantherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:36   #9
Trail boss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Cumberland County,N.C.

Application packets will only be given to persons who have completed or are attending the Firearms Safety Training Course. The packets will be given out from 8:00 AM until 5:00pm Monday - Friday in Room 127 of the Law Enforcement Center
Only applications fully completed, and clearly printed in black ink or typed will be accepted.
Read all forms and material prior to submission of the application. The applications are accepted with the understanding that the applicant has read and understands the Do's and Don'ts of Carrying A Concealed Handgun and the Disqualifying Criminal Offenses Pursuant to NCGS 14-415.12(b)
Fingerprints will be rolled on Cumberland County Sheriff's Office fingerprint cards by Sheriff's Office personnel in Room 127 of the Law Enforcement Center when the applicant returns his/her completed packet.
Residence address must be the actual physical place of residence in CUMBERLAND COUNTY, not a post office box or business address, etc. UNLESS HOUSED IN BARRACKS.
Business phone numbers will not be accepted as residence phone numbers.
All application packets must have the following:
A completed NOTARIZED Application for Concealed Handgun Permit; (FORM DCI CHPA)
A completed NOTARIZED; Release of Physical and Mental Health Records (FORM AOC-SP-914M)
A completed Acknowledgment; (CCSO FORM 400)
A completed Cumberland County Sheriff's Office Investigative Work Sheet; (CCSO Form 399)
One(1) photograph of applicant - passport type or from the waist up - no hat, no shades.
A copy of applicant's Social Security Card.
A copy of DD-214 if discharged or retired from the military.
ORIGINAL certificate of completion of approved firearms safety and training course approved by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission; OR certification of qualified law enforcement status.
Ninety dollar ($90.00) NON-REFUNDABLE fee. (Cash, certified check, or money order ONLY!)
Non-Military Cumberland residents must also have the following:
Copy of applicant's valid North Carolina Drivers License or North Carolina DMV Special Identification Card with the current place of residence
Copy of applicant's birth certificate.
III. Military personnel stationed at Fort Bragg, Pope Air Force Base or their dependents mustprovide the following:
Copy of applicant's North Carolina Drivers License / ID or their state of residence Driver's License or identification card.
Copy of applicant's Military ID Card.
Copy of applicant's Permanent Change of Station(PCS) orders or applicant's spouse's PCS orders with date of assignment at least thirty days prior to date of application.
Two completed Cumberland County Sheriff's Office fingerprint cards will be completed in our office when the application is submitted
__________________
"The very atmosphere of firearms anywhere and everywhere restrains evil interference - they deserve a place of honor with all that's good"
Trail boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 14:29   #10
fingers1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 6
I know this thread is old but.........


I have a CCW from Union County and will be moving to Mecklenburgh County soon. Anyone know if I have to go through the whole application process or is there a way to transfer from union to mecklenburgh counties?
fingers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 16:00   #11
kirgi08
Silver Membership
Watcher.
 
kirgi08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Acme proving grounds.
Posts: 27,547
Blog Entries: 1


It should be good statewide.'08.
__________________
I'd rather be judged by 12 than carried by 6

If you look like food,You will be eaten.

Rip Chad.You will be missed.
kirgi08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 17:05   #12
Bogey
CLM Number 242
The Mouth®
 
Bogey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 36,781
Send a message via Yahoo to Bogey


You need to get your address changed.

Call your local Sheriff's office. Might be a fee charged for re-issue. Remember, your permit address and DL address are supposed to match.
Bogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 23:16   #13
NC Bullseye
Senior Member
 
NC Bullseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Foothills
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by fingers1 View Post
I know this thread is old but.........


I have a CCW from Union County and will be moving to Mecklenburgh County soon. Anyone know if I have to go through the whole application process or is there a way to transfer from union to mecklenburgh counties?
NORTH CAROLINA
CONCEALED CARRY HANDGUN PERMIT
CHANGE OF ADDRESS WITHIN THE STATE

Once you know you are changing addresses and have your new address (don’t wait until you move):

1. Call the issuing sheriffs office and tell them you need to do a change of address for your CHP.
2. Go to the issuing sheriffs office and complete the change of address form.
3. Issuing sheriffs office will give you a completed change of address form to carry with your current CHP to show your new address. You will need to carry the change of address form, the CHP and your NC issued photo ID if you are addressed by a law enforcement officer. This is valid until you are due to renew your CHP.
4. The sheriffs office at your new address will handle the renewal of your CHP. You will need to conduct the renewal process through their office.
5. You have 30 days to do this after your address change but don’t wait till the last minute or you may have difficulties do to scheduling of the sheriffs office. DON’T RISK LETTING YOUR PERMIT LAPSE! IF YOU DO, YOU START ALL OVER AGAIN INCLUDING TAKING ANOTHER CHP CLASS!
NC Bullseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 02:18   #14
fingers1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 6
Okay, thanks for the info!

I will get on it ASAP
fingers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 22:34   #15
frontier2011
Give Me Brass
 
frontier2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 263
outdated info,
frontier2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 11:36   #16
NC Bullseye
Senior Member
 
NC Bullseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Foothills
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier2011 View Post
outdated info,
Care to be a little less cryptic and say WHAT info is outdated?
NC Bullseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 10:01   #17
burstfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
[URL]http://pas.fdle.state.fl.us/pas/item/displayGunSearch.a[/URL]

type in the serial number and it will tell you if its been reported stolen.

take what ever action you think is best.

Hope this will help
burstfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 21:25   #18
steven07
Senior Member
 
steven07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 266
Charlotte & Surrounding Cities

Unfortunately I found out a couple months ago when attempting to buy a new gun that my carry permit had been expired for nearly 6 months. Guess I missed that memo!!! I can not count it a complete lose because I took a new class last weekend and really enjoyed it. They charges only half of what I paid in Charlotte and provided lunch free of charge. The instructors were very up to speed on changed laws and very personable as well. $60 +ammo and if you bring a friend its $50 each. http://concealcarryhandgunclass.com/ If you haven't taken the class yet and are not to terribly far away I highly recommend these guys!!!
steven07 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:19.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,150
291 Members
859 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42