GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2012, 11:29   #1
Bushflyr
ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
 
Bushflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Western WA
Posts: 4,464
WTH!?! Bizarre Ethernet Problem.

OK, this is just F'ing weird. I have a server set up running Ubuntu 12.04. It's hooked to an Asus RT-n66u via ethernet cable. Also wired to the router is my 27" iMac.

Twice in the last week (and once many moons ago) I've come in to find no internet connection on my Mac. The first time I went through every networking diagnostic thread I could find with zero success. No ethernet connection, but internet works fine when I fire up the wifi, and every other device that connects via wifi is fine. Finally, for some reason, I plugged a spare keyboard and monitor into the server only to find it non responsive. OK. Hard shut down and ethernet is instantly working again on my Mac.

It just happened again and I killed the server. Voila, ethernet fixed.

So. WTH is going on and how is one device breaking the ethernet connection to another device but leaves wifi AOK?
__________________
...the secret is to bang the rocks together, guys.

That which does not kill you has made a tactical error. --Tayler
Bushflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 15:00   #2
Linux3
Senior Member
 
Linux3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,396
There have been ongoing Ethernet problems with older Macs.
Google your Mac and Ethernet problems and you will have lots to read.
__________________
It it's not on fire,
It's a software problem.

Linux3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 18:12   #3
gemeinschaft
AKA Fluffy316
 
gemeinschaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,603
Send a message via AIM to gemeinschaft Send a message via Yahoo to gemeinschaft Send a message via Skype™ to gemeinschaft
Just curious, but is your Ubuntu server handing out DHCP or your router?

I have seen where someone setup a server and did not realize that it was broadcasting and responding to DHCP requests. May not apply here, but thought I would mention since this is something I have run across before.
__________________
Check my Photography Site at: http://fluffyshotme.com/
gemeinschaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 20:41   #4
tcruse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 258
Do a trace route and look at arp cache. Also turn off rip on the Linux box
tcruse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 13:18   #5
Bushflyr
ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
 
Bushflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Western WA
Posts: 4,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linux3 View Post
There have been ongoing Ethernet problems with older Macs.
Google your Mac and Ethernet problems and you will have lots to read.
Yep. I read, literally, every one of those threads and did everything recommended. But the problem isn't the Mac. The problem is the server. As soon as i reboot the server everything works perfectly. I don't even have to log out on my Mac, it's instantly ok.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gemeinschaft View Post
Just curious, but is your Ubuntu server handing out DHCP or your router?

I have seen where someone setup a server and did not realize that it was broadcasting and responding to DHCP requests. May not apply here, but thought I would mention since this is something I have run across before.
I'm pretty sure it would be the router. I don't recall setting up DHCP on the server at all. Server, Mac, and router all use static ip's. And the router handles dhcp for wifi.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcruse View Post
Do a trace route and look at arp cache. Also turn off rip on the Linux box
Will do that when I get home. What's rip?
__________________
...the secret is to bang the rocks together, guys.

That which does not kill you has made a tactical error. --Tayler
Bushflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 16:30   #6
Linux3
Senior Member
 
Linux3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushflyr View Post
Yep. I read, literally, every one of those threads and did everything recommended. But the problem isn't the Mac. The problem is the server. As soon as i reboot the server everything works perfectly. I don't even have to log out on my Mac, it's instantly ok.
I'm pretty sure it would be the router. I don't recall setting up DHCP on the server at all. Server, Mac, and router all use static ip's. And the router handles dhcp for wifi.
Will do that when I get home. What's rip?
Interesting.
I have a client that has installed a bunch of headless servers running Ubuntu 12.04 and 10.04 and the problem he is having is that every so often they lose Ethernet connection and don't re up as they should. Headless so reboot required.

Frankly I am not yet sure why the problem exists. The short term fix was a cron job that checks for internet connection every 5 minutes and does an ifup if it has failed.

You have fixed IP addresses, I don't, so it would be easy to just write a little script to ping the Mac and if it fails to get a return then ifup.
__________________
It it's not on fire,
It's a software problem.


Last edited by Linux3; 09-29-2012 at 16:32..
Linux3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 22:06   #7
Roger1079
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South FL
Posts: 1,734
Probably something you have already checked, but are you certain your statically assigned IP's are outside the range of your DHCP scope?
Roger1079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 01:28   #8
dotsun
conf t
 
dotsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 1,153
I'd love to see a packet cap from this issue. Judicious use of Wireshark is your best bet to see exactly what's going on.
__________________
www.ironjeep.com
dotsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:55   #9
Bushflyr
ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
 
Bushflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Western WA
Posts: 4,464
I'll check out wireshark. I'm not sure how I'd go about getting a cap from a dead wire, self assigned ip, but I'll google it.
__________________
...the secret is to bang the rocks together, guys.

That which does not kill you has made a tactical error. --Tayler
Bushflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:08   #10
Bushflyr
ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
 
Bushflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Western WA
Posts: 4,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcruse View Post
Do a trace route and look at arp cache. Also turn off rip on the Linux box
OK, got back home and rebooted.

arp cache returns "no entry"

rip is not installed.

traceroute returns:

Code:
[/var/log]: traceroute 192.168.1.76
traceroute to 192.168.1.76 (192.168.1.76), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  iMac-0023____04EA.local (192.168.1.76)  0.281 ms  0.271 ms  0.264 ms
Does that help at all?

A FoaF network guru said he suspected an ARP flood or Broadcast storm caused by a faulty NIC on the server, but I'm still researching what that means.
__________________
...the secret is to bang the rocks together, guys.

That which does not kill you has made a tactical error. --Tayler

Last edited by Bushflyr; 10-03-2012 at 12:09..
Bushflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:24   #11
Bushflyr
ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
 
Bushflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Western WA
Posts: 4,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger1079 View Post
Probably something you have already checked, but are you certain your statically assigned IP's are outside the range of your DHCP scope?
Just checked. My DHCP range is from xxx.2 - xxx.99. Static IP's start at xxx.100.

Mac networking is set to DHCP and the server returns:

Code:
[~]: cat /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
[~]:
So I assume it's also set to DHCP with the router handing out all IP requests.
__________________
...the secret is to bang the rocks together, guys.

That which does not kill you has made a tactical error. --Tayler
Bushflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 21:50   #12
douggmc
Senior Member
 
douggmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,651
Have you ensured latest firmware on your Asus RT-n66u?

Try switching out the network card on your Ubuntu server ... or if it is built-in to the motherboard, just add a new card. Preferably something that has a very long history of reliably working with Linux (like an Intel "server" class NIC). I bought this one a couple years ago http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833106015 and it has worked wonderfully for me under CentOS and Ubuntu. It is a dual port NIC ... but this single port one has a ton of good reviews that reference Linux: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833106121

Last edited by douggmc; 10-03-2012 at 21:53..
douggmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 15:02   #13
Bushflyr
ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
 
Bushflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Western WA
Posts: 4,464
Thanks, but no. Throwing parts at something without knowing the exact problem is the absolute last resort. Even if it does fix the problem I'll never know what it really was and won't learn anything.

Half the reason i built this from the ground up was that nothing commercial comes close for the price. The other half was to learn Linux better. Nothing like starting from scratch to force an education.
__________________
...the secret is to bang the rocks together, guys.

That which does not kill you has made a tactical error. --Tayler
Bushflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 15:17   #14
douggmc
Senior Member
 
douggmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushflyr View Post
Thanks, but no. Throwing parts at something without knowing the exact problem is the absolute last resort. Even if it does fix the problem I'll never know what it really was and won't learn anything.

Half the reason i built this from the ground up was that nothing commercial comes close for the price. The other half was to learn Linux better. Nothing like starting from scratch to force an education.
Cool .. I hear ya. I'm the same way and have done same thing as you.

What about the firmware on the router? Current? Are you on a beta and can you step it back to older version?

Do you have any other protocols or services running on router like DLNA or Bittorrent server (not familiar with the model you have ... but I know some of the newer one's have a lot of cool features)? Perhaps turn everything off besides basic DHCP and routing services temporarily if so.

Do you have an alternate router you can swap out temporarily so as to rule the Asus one out as the culprit (i.e., if same thing happens with a different router you can probably assume it is not the router)?

Lastly ... just one more stab at the NIC. I've burned a lot of time with semi-supported NICs on Linux servers. A 30 buck NIC can work wonders in preventing hair loss if it is the culprit. And ... if you want to "learn linux", unless you mean being a kernel hacker and contributing source code to "fix" support for your NIC ... then you might be better served, again, to throw another NIC in there and move on.

Anyhooo .... post back if you find the culprit/solution.

Oh ... can't hurt to swap out CAT cables incase something is flaky there.
douggmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 20:39   #15
dotsun
conf t
 
dotsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushflyr View Post
A FoaF network guru said he suspected an ARP flood or Broadcast storm caused by a faulty NIC on the server, but I'm still researching what that means.
I've seen bad NIC's cause broadcast storms. A dead giveaway of that is if the lights on the card or the switch port it's plugged into are constantly blinking.

Usually after a few minutes of that the nic will shut down and a power cycle clears it's cache and the whole mess starts over again.
__________________
www.ironjeep.com
dotsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 22:13.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,352
364 Members
988 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42