Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 02-24-2013, 22:50   #1
rebeccmh

Training at home for a new gun owner

Hi everyone! I'm new on this site and a new Glock owner. I purchased a G26 Gen 3 back in November for self defense and conceal carry and finally received my CWP a couple of weeks ago. I was originally hoping to be able to go out to the range at least once a month and practice in addition to dry fire practice, but I'm a graduate student so my schedule or finances haven't allowed me to do so as much as I want. I do occasionally do dry fire practice with snap caps to work on obtaining a sight picture and work on my trigger pull, but I am just curious about what methods you all recommend for your training at home when you can't get out to the range.

Helpful websites for women:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
rebeccmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:06   #2
troysglock

I put a notecard on my safe and practice drawing and making a good trigger press. I focus 100% on keeping the front sight locked on and still through the press. 10 or 15 min. Is all a couple times a week.
Old 02-25-2013, 06:38   #3
Beanie-Bean

Practice drawing from concealment, and mind your trigger discipline.

Also, no ammo in the room while dry firing!

Congrats on the new Glock and carry license, and welcome to GT!

Beanie-Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:08   #4
ezthumper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanie-Bean View Post
Practice drawing from concealment, and mind your trigger discipline.
Also make sure you alert others in your house hold that you are doing this.

It makes for an awkward conversation with your wife when your kids come up to mommy and asks if daddy is ok...