GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 20:51   #1
musclegto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
Mounting TLR1 on AR

Just interested in your set ups. Pics? The best Idea I have is mounting with a bayonet rail.
musclegto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 21:05   #2
LA_357SIG
Milspectacular
 
LA_357SIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Not Los Angeles.
Posts: 1,231
The only setup I could call a success was with a FSB side mount a long time ago. It was a pretty decent placement to operate the rocker switch with the weak hand thumb. Now a days I prefer a Surefire flashlight on an offset mount.

Black Rifle Forum
__________________
"If I was you I would keep it just like it is... and shoot the **** out of it until something breaks. Then replace whatever it is and keep shooting."

Last edited by LA_357SIG; 01-27-2013 at 21:13.. Reason: This pic was taken just for show at the time. I had the light on the other side and on a carbine upper.
LA_357SIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 21:07   #3
DougW
Native Texan
 
DougW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 340
My son who just returned from Afganland has a TLR1 on his M4. That rifle had a Knights Armorment forearm, and he mounted his forwrd on the right side of the rifle so that his left index finger could activate the light (he didn't use a verticle fore grip). Worked fine for him, an he will now mount it on his personal M4'gery.
__________________
Enfield .303 Accumulator/Collector

Proud Father of Two US Army Soldiers
DougW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 21:19   #4
musclegto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
My rifle is a flat top with no iron sights, and I did not want to put an aftermarket forearm.

Last edited by musclegto; 01-28-2013 at 11:32..
musclegto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 21:42   #5
musclegto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
would something like this work?



musclegto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 21:44   #6
musclegto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
oops double post.

Last edited by musclegto; 01-27-2013 at 21:45..
musclegto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 21:53   #7
mjkeat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 3,450
http://battlecomp.com/index.php?main...index&cPath=13
mjkeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 22:07   #8
bug
Senior Member
 
bug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,008
Had my TLR1s mounted on front sight post

Went To TDI last summer for a class last day was heavy on ammo, gun got real hot outside temp was 95 deg 80-90% humidity.

light stopped working near as the low light stuff began.
switched to my surefire kept going...

Got back to camp it cooled off I put new battery in it and it came on however the strobe feature did not work anymore.

So If you do mount on FSP or near gas block might want to watch and make you do not over heat the light..
__________________
Life Is short live well

Last edited by bug; 01-27-2013 at 22:08..
bug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 22:48   #9
cowboy1964
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 14,916
The short rail from the Magpul light kit on a Magpul handguard works very well (you can use a longer rail as well but the short one is covered entirely by the TLR). You can easily reach the TLR-1's rocker switch with your support hand.
cowboy1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 19:42   #10
Ruggles
Senior Member
 
Ruggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tejas
Posts: 8,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboy1964 View Post
The short rail from the Magpul light kit on a Magpul handguard works very well (you can use a longer rail as well but the short one is covered entirely by the TLR). You can easily reach the TLR-1's rocker switch with your support hand.
Exactly what I did.

Black Rifle Forum

Black Rifle Forum

Works well
Ruggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 23:16   #11
musclegto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
I really don't like how the aftermarket handguards look, too busy or "tactical" for my taste.

Last edited by musclegto; 01-27-2013 at 23:24..
musclegto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 23:53   #12
Cole125
Silver Membership
Senior Member
 
Cole125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far West, USA
Posts: 7,593
I had a TLR-2 mounted on the bottom of my quad rail, worked okay. Happen to have a pic of the set up.

Black Rifle Forum
Cole125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 11:47   #13
QNman
resU deretsigeR
 
QNman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole125 View Post
I had a TLR-2 mounted on the bottom of my quad rail, worked okay. Happen to have a pic of the set up.

Black Rifle Forum
Dang. Looks EXACTLY like my setup! Hey... Is that my basement in the background? (Kidding)
__________________
"I am sick and tired of people who say that if you debate and you disagree with this administration, somehow you're not patriotic. We should stand up and say we are Americans and we have a right to debate and disagree with any administration." - Hillary Clinton, 2003

TERM LIMITS NOW!!!
QNman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:27   #14
Buckshot Barry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 571
Black Rifle Forum

Black Rifle Forum
Buckshot Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:07   #15
musclegto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
Those magpul stocks look great. Looking to put one on myself. Did you guys use the UTG buffer tubes? Don't know if I need them for my Sig Sauer
musclegto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:10   #16
Mad Ryan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sunny Southern Oregon
Posts: 1,253
Not a TLR but the same idea.

Black Rifle Forum
__________________
Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't...

Last edited by Mad Ryan; 01-28-2013 at 22:47.. Reason: added a pic
Mad Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:33   #17
MrMurphy
Lifetime Membership
*********
 
MrMurphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Buried in the X-files
Posts: 31,702
UTG= cheap Airsoft crap.



I've never liked running pistol lights on a rifle. They flood well but don't have enough throw, even the X300. If you're ONLY doing room interiors they'd do, but I've had to do far too much exterior work with a whitelight. A G3, Scout or now a Fury is a better option in an offset rail mount at 10 oclock.
__________________
"And Shepherds we shall be. For thee, my Lord for thee. Power hath descended forth from thy hand, that our feet may swiftly carry out thy command. So we shall flow a river forth to thee and teeming with souls shall it ever be. In nomine Patris, et fili, et Spiritus Sancti. Amen."
MrMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:24   #18
musclegto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
Have any pictures of your setup? I really like the offset 10 o clock idea
musclegto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:54   #19
PVolk
Senior Member
 
PVolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southwest MI
Posts: 937
Cole125 - Did your barrel cast a nasty shadow in the flashlight pattern with that setup? I know my longslide Glock does with the TLR1, and you have far more barrel ahead of the light than my Glock does.
__________________
NRA Life Member
*19c, 23c, 24*

Last edited by PVolk; 01-28-2013 at 10:54..
PVolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 22:45   #20
Cole125
Silver Membership
Senior Member
 
Cole125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far West, USA
Posts: 7,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by PVolk View Post
Cole125 - Did your barrel cast a nasty shadow in the flashlight pattern with that setup? I know my longslide Glock does with the TLR1, and you have far more barrel ahead of the light than my Glock does.
It does a little bit, but the setup is still very usable.
Cole125 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,024
265 Members
759 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42