Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-11-2013, 14:17   #1
Armanius

Can I leave ammo inside Glock magazine indefinitely?

Hello everyone! I recently got my first pistol, a Glock 19 Gen 4. Loving it!

I have some Federal HST LE ammo for self-defense purposes in one of the three mags that came with the gun. Can I just leave the ammo in the mag indefinitely? Would it have any detrimental effect on the mags, like maybe on the springs? Any detrimental effect on the ammo? Should I be taking the ammo out from time to time and maybe rotating amongst the three mags?

Thanks for the helps folks. I'm just a noob when it comes to firearms.

Last edited by Armanius; 01-11-2013 at 14:18..
Armanius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 14:19   #2
tonyparson

You can leave mag loaded for ever. Won't hurt the mag at all.
Old 01-11-2013, 14:24   #3
Armanius

Thanks for the quick response Tony. One more noob question, does ammo "expire" or go bad, assuming that the ammo is just sitting inside the house (as opposed to the in the middle of a rain forest)?

Thank you.
Old 01-11-2013, 14:24   #4
boose88

A previous post addressed the same question and a few members said that their mags would not feed 100% of the time after thousands of rounds and having them sit for months on end.

I personally rotate the mags cause I carry but Its not necessary and is EXTREMELY rare to find any mag that will do that.

conclusion- I could hurt the mag but chances that it will be fine are 99%
boose88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 14:26   #5
Armanius

Quote:
Originally Posted by boose88 View Post
A previous post addressed the same question and a few members said that their mags would not feed 100% of the time after thousands of rounds and having them sit for months on end.