View Single Post
Old 07-09-2013, 08:25   #9
WarCry
Senior Member
 
WarCry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL, on the banks of the Muddy River
Posts: 7,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerrGlock View Post
Now here's one for people to think about.

When can out of staters drive through Chicago with a CCW on their hip? As soon as it's signed? 60 days? 90 days?

I know the state police have 180 days to implement but when does the actual law take effect?

This is the one point that is amusing as hell whenever a new state passes this law, out of state people with permits recognized can carry sooner than instate people.

(edit) I see this in many of the articles


So out of state people driving from Indiana to Wisconsin could carry Wed morning if the veto is overridden.

I kinda feel sorry for the first handful of people who get pulled over and say, "I'm carrying a handgun on my hip..."
The bill says "This Act takes effect upon becoming law".

House and Senate are both in session at 11am Central this morning (I can provide links to live feeds if anyone's interested), and if they both vote to override, then the law is effective upon the final (second) vote. If both vote by noon, you can drive from South Bend to Milwaukee for dinner tonight.
__________________
"If you have something to say, now would be a perfect time to keep it to yourself." --Col. Chester Phillips
"If you believe everything you read, better not read." --Japanese proverb
WarCry is online now   Reply With Quote